Dose of Devotion

 motivational quote: Sometimes we're tested not to show our weaknesses, but to discover our strengths.    Unknown
BibleGatewayHeader.jpg
Standing Strong Through the Storm

BEING SALT OF THE EARTH

“You are the salt of the earth. But if the salt loses its saltiness, how can it be made salty again? It is no longer good for anything, except to be thrown out and trampled underfoot.” Matthew 5:13

Jesus is making a statement of fact here when he says, You are the salt of the earth!” It is not a command or wish list. It is to be reality here and now. The implication is that we are to be what God has already made us to be.

The context is Christians facing persecution. Their numbers are small and they are insignificant. Salt is cheap in some places and expensive in others. We have the saying that a man is worth his weight in salt! Its value may vary yet it has unusual properties that far exceed its value.

This is what should happen when Christians take their stand for God in society. That stand for good renders society infertile for the growth of evil and ungodly influences. When England went through revival under the ministry of the Wesley’s and George Whitefield in the 18th century, a possible bloody revolution such as afflicted France was averted.

Usually it happens on a more moderate scale. Conversations moderated, consciences pricked, respect for others heightened.

The disciples’ of Christ do not remain silent about their faith. They do not hide themselves, but live and work in places where their influence may be felt. The light that is in them can then be most fully manifested to others so that they may see that the light of real Christian goodness. It is a light not of this world but coming from God, and may in consequence be led to give honor and praise to its Giver.

I was blessed to visit a seminary in Indonesia that reflects this teaching of Jesus. They are surrounded by a Muslim community where many live in poverty. Rather than live in an isolated enclave, the school and students serve this community with the love of Jesus. They teach literacy lessons; they provide first-aid medical care; they distribute food and clothing to the hungry and naked.

During an outbreak of violence by extremists against churches in the area, an angry Muslim mob approached the seminary one night chanting their slogans and waving their machetes. When they arrived at the buildings, they found a circle of Muslim people surrounding the campus holding hands in a large circle. They said to the extremists, “We will not allow you to destroy this school. These people help us and our children with all our needs. You may not harm them!” The mob disappeared.

Being salt and light in community also has its rewards.

RESPONSE: Today I resolve to live my life for Jesus in a way that will positively “salt” my community.

PRAYER: Help me, Lord, to stand for the good and be a salty influence for You in the world around me.

BibleGatewayHeader.jpg
Encouragement for Today
Lisa JacobsonStrengthen Your Child’s Heart With Words
LISA JACOBSON
Lee en español

“Let no corrupting talk come out of your mouths, but only such as is good for building up, as fits the occasion, that it may give grace to those who hear.” Ephesians 4:29 (ESV)

I can honestly tell you I never intended to say the words aloud. It’s like they popped out of my mouth on their own accord — the result of growing frustration and sheer exasperation with our tween-aged daughter.

We had just finished a particularly trying conversation and, while walking away, I shrugged my shoulders and said to no one in particular, “Oh, I give up!”

I. Give. Up.

Three surprisingly significant words — especially when spoken within earshot of your own child. Something I’m keenly aware of now based on what she said to me later.

After several hours had passed, this same daughter — this strong, determined, often unrelenting girl — came to find me before bedtime. When she spotted me, she was so choked up she could barely get the words out.

“Oh, Mom. How could you give up? I can handle anyone, anyone else, giving up on me. But not you.”

Clearly, I had wounded my daughter with my words. I was mortified. How could I have been so careless and hurtful? Immediately convicted, I asked her forgiveness and assured her repeatedly I would never give up on her.

I also made a quiet vow to myself: I’d never again utter that phrase to, or about, my children. But even more importantly than what I would not say, I determined to be more intentional about the things that I would say.

The Bible addresses both sides of this conversation in Ephesians 4:29. First, “Let no corrupting [literally ‘rotten’ or ‘worthless’] talk come out of your mouths” and, secondly, “but only such as is good for building up [or ‘edifying’], as fits the occasion, that it may give grace to those who hear.”

Simply put: Our words are powerful.

As parents, we have tremendous influence and opportunity to use our words to either build up or to tear down. To encourage or discourage. The choice is ours.

For instance, consider the impact on my daughter if I’d said something like this instead: You are a strong person, and I believe God is going to use that strength in big ways someday.

Or, We might not always see things the same way, but I will always stay by your side.

Or, I don’t know everything, but here’s what I do know: You have something beautiful to offer that this world needs.

Just imagine if she had some of those words swirling around in her head as she was drifting off to sleep. Or if a few of these statements made their way into her prayers at night. Just imagine!

Maybe you have a child who could use some encouragement as well. What do you think he or she might be longing to hear from you? Because no matter what age they may be — toddler, tween, teen or adult — they desperately need words of love and strength spoken over them.

We all do.

So if you want to make a difference in your child’s life, begin by building up their heart and mind — one strong, beautiful word at a time.

Dear heavenly Father, I realize the power behind what I choose to say, or not to say, to my child. Please help me use my words wisely and lovingly — to build up, encourage and bless. I want to strengthen my child’s heart by the things I say. In Jesus’ Name, Amen.

OUR FAVORITE THINGS: Do you want to speak life-giving words into your child’s heart? Matt and Lisa Jacobson’s new book, 100 Words of Affirmation Your Daughter Needs to Hear (and the companion, 100 Words of Affirmation Your Son Needs to Hear), offers 100 phrases to say to your daughter (or son) that deeply encourage and inspire — simple, practical and actionable ways to communicate a strong message of love and affirmation.

ENGAGE: Connect with Lisa on Instagram for more practical, biblical encouragement!

Enter to WIN your very own copy of 100 Words of Affirmation Your Daughter Needs to Hearby Matt and Lisa Jacobson. To celebrate this book, Lisa’s publisher will give away 5 copies! Enter to win by leaving a comment here. {We’ll randomly select 5 winners and then notify each one in the comments section by Monday, June 14, 2021.}

FOR DEEPER STUDY: Proverbs 12:18, “There is one whose rash words are like sword thrusts, but the tongue of the wise brings healing.” (ESV)

Perhaps spend a few moments considering what and how you communicate to your child. Is it primarily kind and affirming? Take some time to write out the specific words or phrases you want to press upon your child’s heart, starting today.

© 2021 by Lisa Jacobson. All rights reserved.

Proverbs 31 Ministries thanks Revell for their sponsorship of today’s devotion.

Click here to view our policy on 3rd party links.Proverbs 31 Ministries
PO Box 3189
Matthews, NC 28106
www.Proverbs31.org

Promise #202

Picture

Promise #202:
I will restore your health and heal all your hurts.

Jeremiah 30:17 (WEB)
For I will restore health to you, and I will heal you of your wounds, says Yahweh; 
because they have called you an outcast, saying, It is Zion, whom no man seeks after.

In this fallen orphan world that we live in, sickness is part of every day life. We all know someone who is struggling with some form of infirmity, or we ourselves may be struggling. When Jesus taught us to pray the Lord’s Prayer, He said for us to ask our Father to bring His kingdom to this world. Since there is no sickness in heaven, we can receive comfort in knowing that healing is part of the good news of the gospel. 

In today’s promise, God promises to restore health to our bodies and to bring healing to all our wounds. How the fulfillment of that promise applies to us personally is as unique as each one of us is different. God’s ways are not our ways and the fulfillment of this promise is tailored uniquely to our own circumstance. 

Personally, I have suffered partial deafness as a result of a childhood ear infection. I can’t count the number of times that I have received prayer for healing. While the healing has not yet manifested itself, I still hold on to the promise that God is faithful and healing is part of the New Covenant, bought and paid for by Jesus Christ. 

Though there are times when I feel disappointment for not yet receiving my healing, I continue to open up my heart for more prayer. Sometimes that feeling of disappointment can open the door to disillusionment about healing. It is times like this that I need healing for the wounds of my soul. 

In Jeremiah 30:17, God promises to bring health to our bodies and healing to all the wounds we suffer in our heart.  I pray that whatever your circumstance is today, that faith would rise up in your heart and you would believe God for the healing you need for both your body and your soul.

Love God And Love Others Well

Stormy Weather


Neither height nor depth, nor anything else in all creation, will be able to separate us from the love of God that is in Christ Jesus our Lord.” — Romans 8:39


Hurricanes, tornados, volcanoes, tsunamis, earthquakes — sometimes the natural storms of life seem to say that the Lord is upset with us.  But Romans tells us clearly that nothing “in all creation” can separate us from God’s bottomless love.  There are times when these storms hit us personally — the roof is torn off the house, the basement floods, the beautiful spruce in the backyard is flattened — and it might be difficult to believe God still loves us. 

But consider this: would Jesus have died for our sins if He didn’t love you with an extravagant  personal love?


Sometimes God tests us and builds our character through personal storms, but often they’re just the result of a sin-filled world.  When God banished Adam and Eve from Eden, He warned them that life in this world would be difficult.  But He also promises us that life in the next world will be glorious for His children.


Thank You, Lord, for loving me so much that nothing in all creation can separate me from Your love.  Amen.


“Believe in yourself. You are braver than you think, more talented than you know, and capable of more than you imagine.”― Roy T. Bennett

DaySpring Cards

Step Out in Faith

by: DaySpring

One of the great paradoxes of humanity  

revealed in the life of Christ and the word of God  

is that we’ll never experience being more fully alive  

than while we’re giving our lives away.  

Greatness looks like serving… 

losing comes before finding… 

the last shall be first.  

In light of this truth,  

has God been nudging you  

to step out in faith and be more intentional  

about giving your life away? What would that look like?  

Today’s Reading: Matthew 10:39 NLT 

If you cling to your life, you will lose it; but if you give up your life for me, you will find it. 

Looking for more inspiration? You can find more resources for hope and encouragement, such as products to help you grow in your faith or resources in our article library on DaySpring.com

DaySpring Cards

A Scripture that Changed My Life

by Kristin

It’s normally served with a heaping portion of sarcasm and sass, and topped with a generous roll of the eyes.

“What-EV-er.”

I may or may not have said that word a few times exactly like I described. So it’s kind of funny that God would pick a word with that kind of reputation to change my life. But He did.

I was in a mom’s Bible study when I first heard the term “life verse.” A friend shared that her parents had given her and her siblings a verse to cling to in life and to claim as their very own. As a young mother and a lover of Jesus, my ears perked up immediately. I wanted to do that for my kids, too!

I loved the process of leaning in and letting God lead my husband and me to a special verse that we could give to our kids! But then it occurred to me. Everyone in my family now had a life verse…except me.

I began praying that God would show me a verse that would be applicable and intensely significant to the real me. The real me that He knit together in my mother’s womb. The real me that He fearfully and wonderfully made. The real me that the enemy was regularly trying to redefine through negative self-talk.

I tried out a few verses until one day, He revealed my life verse to me during a Bible study. The verse wasn’t even the focus of the lesson, but there it was, nonetheless. It was one I had read many times, but this time it was different. It was perfectly relevant, and I instantly knew it was mine.

“Whatever is true, whatever is noble, whatever is right, whatever is pure, whatever is lovely, whatever is admirable—if anything is excellent or praiseworthy—think about such things.” Philippians 4:8 NIV

“Whatever” took on a brand new meaning for me that day. It was no longer a sarcastic and sassy word. It was sacred.

God knew that I needed help taming and transforming my thoughts. He knew I was listening to lies from the enemy about who I was and who I wasn’t, and that eventually I would believe them. He knew they sent me spiraling down into dark thought dungeons that were practically impossible to climb out of on my own.

Philippians 4:8 became my ladder, and rung-by-rung, God taught me how to climb it. He gave me specific instructions on how to use this verse to do a holy u-turn that would transport me away from the lies and back to a place of truth and refuge, safe in the arms of my Savior.

“Go slow and be thoughtful.” God said. “Use this verse to ask yourself questions about whatever you are thinking about. The answers will lead you to the truth.”

What is true about it?

What is noble about it?

What is right about it?

What is pure about it?

…you get the idea.

It’s unbelievable how well it works; it was as if He had written it just for me! I am no longer captive to these lies for extended periods of time. Hallelujah!

God knew from the beginning of time that we would need His Word not just to survive, but to thrive. He tells us in Jeremiah that before He formed us in our mother’s womb, He knew us. The real us. As our Creator, He had already made provision for us through His Word, long before we even realized we needed it.

Do you have a life verse that you cling to day-to-day? One that helps you fight the battles of life? One that encourages you to persevere? One that guides you in decision-making? One that holds you up in times of doubt? One that equips you to overcome? One that reminds you of who you are in Him?

If you already have one, glory to God! Today is a good day to share your verse and your story with others (click on the icons to your left to share this article and your life verse story with friends and family through social media or email). And, be sure to check out DaySpring’s Gifts & Home section to find your verse displayed on jewelry, décor, tumblers and more – all to remind you of who you are in Him!

If you don’t have one yet, today is a good day to ask God to give you one! His Word is timeless and trustworthy. As the Creator of both you and the Word, He is the Perfect One to point you to a verse that will be relevant for a lifetime.

Looking for more inspiration? Be sure to check out this related article:

What’s Your Life Verse?My life verse became my ladder, and rung-by-rung, God taught me how to climb it.

Crosswalk.com

Take Dead Aim

Take Dead Aim
By Heather Riggleman

“But as for you, man of God, shun all this; aim at righteousness, godliness, faith, love, steadfastness, gentleness.” – 1 Timothy 6:11

The setting sun sent swirls of golden fire across the blue sky. The wind blows and causes my hands to tremble under the tension of my bow. I breathe out and steady my hands and take aim.

I hear my husband tease me, but I drown out his words and focus. Less than a second passes before my arrow hits the target with deadly accuracy. In triumph, a smile spreads across my lips as I turn and wink at my husband.

“Beat that, cowboy,” I smirk and step back, as Chris moves forward.

We are an archery family. There is something about loosening an arrow that satisfies a fire within our spirits, especially mine. It calms everything on the surface and creates clarity out of the tension. Maybe, I’m slightly off my rocker here, but it also saved my marriage.

Years ago, my husband and I were barely speaking. Overnight we went from being high school sweethearts to married with a baby on the way. Neither of us had a chance to find ourselves–much less grow up. Statistically speaking, the odds were stacked against with a one percent success rate of staying married. One percent! But the worse part—neither one of us knew Jesus.

Yet on good days and bad; after fights, petty arguments, or other harsh adulting realities, we would find ourselves at the shooting range. It was the one activity we could enjoy. Instead of becoming each other’s targets with resentment and misplaced feelings, the bullseye united us on the forefront as our common enemy. There, we shot our arrows of frustration and anger. And believe me, we had a lot of frustrations. The friction of trying to mesh our lives together and grow into ourselves constantly pulled at the seams of “us.” But on the field, we found common ground. It wasn’t until both of us came to know Jesus that our aim changed.

Love Aims at Truth

Chris and I didn’t have anything significant to aim toward until we both knew and loved Jesus. We soon learned so many of our fights could’ve been avoided. It is crystal clear in the Bible, that God means for us to aim consciously at something significant in life but also in marriage.

Like focusing on our target in the field, we learned to target Jesus at all times. But here’s the thing, if we aren’t careful to keep our aim on Christ, there is an adversary out there who has us in his sight. He has a target on your back, mine, and every marriage attempting to emulate Jesus. He will stop at nothing to destroy your marriage. If he can destroy your marriage, then he can destroy your family, too.

He sends flaming arrows in the form of misunderstandings, misplaced expectations, parenting differences. He will use co-workers at the office. He will use Facebook and long-lost friends of the opposite sex. He will use anything and everything. And last but not least, if you’re wise to most of his tactics, he will use the sin of being too busy.

So keep Jesus in front of you. These three words, “Take dead aim,” may sound negative, but it’s quite the opposite. Your aim should be clear, sure, and focused. We must have a clear vision of the target and focus on it, daily.

love aims at truth

1st Timothy 6:11 says, “But as for you, man of God, shun all this; aim at righteousness, godliness, faith, love, steadfastness, gentleness.”

Since there is much that could keep us from the best God has to offer, we must take dead aim on the really important things in our life. What are your goals? What do you want to complete and accomplish? Do you want a long-lasting, successful marriage, one that keeps you fulfilled for years after the wedding guests have gone home? I imagine you do. Begin target practice together.


Heather Riggleman calls Nebraska home (Hey, it’s not for everyone) with her three kids and husband of 20 years. She writes to bring bold truths to marriage, career, mental health, faith, relationships, celebration and heartache. She is the co-host of the Moms Together Podcast and is a former national award-winning journalist. She is the author of Mama Needs a Time Out and Let’s Talk About Prayer. Her work has been featured on Proverbs 31 Ministries, MOPS, Today’s Christian Woman and Focus On the Family. You can find her at www.heatherriggleman.com.

For More Great Resources for Christian Couples, Visit Crosswalk’s Marriage Channel.

Related Resource: Listen to our new, FREE podcast on marriage: Team Us. The best marriages have a teamwork mentality. Find practical, realistic ideas for strengthening your marriage. 

Crosswalk.com

How Do I Enjoy Sex in My Marriage after Past Sexual Abuse?

How Do I Enjoy Sex in My Marriage after Past Sexual Abuse?

“Can I enjoy marriage or sex after I’ve suffered sexual abuse?”

“How do I trust someone with my body after domestic violence?”
“What if sex triggers me?”
“What if I’m unable to please my spouse sexually?”
“What if I’m too damaged to have a relationship?”

These are practical questions and real concerns from abuse survivors. Some of us were married to our abuser. Others were abused by a parent, teacher, pastor, or sibling. Whatever the case, the distortions of love and sexuality – the lies that constrict our hearts and minds – leave echoes of fear and shadows of insecurity long after we’ve broken free. We may desire a romantic relationship, yet fear our past will sabotage our future.

Because every abuse survivor is different—different personalities, different experiences, and different triggers—it’s impossible to write a one-size-fits-all solution. Nevertheless, while I encourage you to speak with a counselor about your unique situation, I will give you a general response and pray it sets you on the right path.

God Made Sex

When I was a kid, I felt like walking cancer. I thought I was a trigger for the sins of my father. Like a spiritual Typhoid Mary, I feared I was infecting men with sexual perversion wherever I went. People I loved, even my own dad, were falling sick with sin because of me. I was afraid to get too close to Godly men, like my pastor or elders, because I feared causing them to stumble.

But one Sunday, our pastor preached a sermon about sex. It was one of those services where they send out all the kids, and warn adults to grab their smelling salts because things are about to get awkward.

Rather than daunt me, these warnings made me curious. I sat in on that sermon and I listened well. I learned that when God made Adam and Eve, he told them to, “Be fruitful and increase in number; fill the earth and subdue it,” Genesis 1:28. After God created man and woman, he said, “It is very good,” Genesis 1:31. Because of this, we know that sex is good. Sex was invented, designed, and purposed by God for good.

Adam and Eve were intended to have a loving, physical, marital relationship; one man and one woman, faithful and affectionate. Had they not become sinful, their marriage could have lasted forever. But sex existed before the Fall; before sin entered the world.

While sinful people may use sex in sinful ways, sex itself is not sinful or anything to be ashamed of. It is only when sex occurs outside marriage and without love that someone has sinned.

That sermon threw a wrench in my abuser’s mind games. The lies my father shouted and that Satan whispered began to unravel. I started to realize that my dad’s perversion was entirely his own creation. It was nobody fault but his. Not mine. Not God’s. Not maleness as a gender. Not even Satan’s. My abuser’s sin was totally my abuser’s fault.

End the Guilt-Trip

Abusers often try to convince us that all sexuality, even loving sex within the bounds of marriage, is shameful or evil. Transversely, they may claim that all sex—even violent or nonconsensual sex—is acceptable within the bounds of marriage. My father taught me both these lies simultaneously, and the effect was confusion and despair.

Abusers may claim that our anger at their evil is just as sinful as their violence. They may misrepresent our justifiable fear, revulsion, or indignation, by accusing us of being unforgiving, disrespectful, self-righteous, or unsubmissive. They minimize their own sin, while piling shame on us. They may hope we’ll feel too embarrassed or guilty to seek help or report them.

Understanding this pattern—that evil people falsely accuse to maintain control over us—is vital. Seeing through their lies is like ripping off a blindfold. Rejecting their patterns of thought is like severing the fetters which chain us to misery.

We may feel confused because we found our abusive spouse attractive. But of course we found them attractive! It’s not sinful to be attracted to your spouse. On the contrary, it’s good and healthy. At some point, we loved our violent or perverted husband.

But love is not a sin, nor does it make us complicit in theirs.

We may have felt flattered by a parent’s inappropriate attention, but it is not wrong for a child to want to please their father or mother, or desire to impress a teacher, pastor, or family “friend.” Children are supposed to trust adults.

Innocence is not a sin, nor does it make us complicit in theirs.

Love is Not Lust, Truth Is Not Shameful

And hope is not weakness. As survivors, we have to redefine concepts our abusers have wrongly defined. We need to reorient our perspective on fundamental concepts like romance, sexuality, masculinity, and marriage. Slowly but surely, we need to learn to differentiate our natural instincts and wholesome desires from sinful choices and evil intent.

For example, lust is inappropriate thoughts which a person meditates on, obsesses over, and develops. Lust may start as a small idea, but it’s fed over time until it grows into fantasies and obsessions. Eventually, lust can impede our ability to think pure thoughts or feel wholesome love. It affects how we treat others.

To lust is to choose and chase temptation. Simply finding someone attractive, or sexually desiring a spouse, is not the same thing.

Attraction is a natural feeling that happens to healthy adults. We know this because, like sex, God made it. The chemicals he incorporated into our bodies react to stimuli resulting in emotional and sometimes physical responses. For example, if an attractive person smiles at you, you may blush. That doesn’t make you evil. It makes you human.

But unlike abusers, when we see an attractive person, rather than lusting, we recognize them as God’s creation. Meaning, we treat them with honor and dignity. We don’t fantasize about them, take advantage of them, try to seduce them, or intentionally make them feel awkward. Basic emotions and chemical reactions are not sin in and of themselves. It’s how we act upon them (both in our imaginations and in real life) that may be sinful. That’s why one of the fruits of the Spirit is “self-control” (Galatians 5:22).

Nevertheless, the guilt-tripping and trauma from past abuse can inhibit godly and loving Christians who desire a wholesome sexual relationship, yet fear sin.

If this is you, consider reading through the Song of Solomon. Remember, these words were inspired and ordained by God himself. They are not just good, they are holy. They are the divine ideal for how a loving groom romances his bride, and an honorable wife flirts with her husband. It’s OK.

There’s no shame in expressing the feelings and desires God designed you to enjoy. Your sexuality is not “dirty” or anything to be afraid of. Rather, it is a gift from God intended that you may glorify him through your love, life, and marriage.

Identify Your Triggers and Create Anti-Triggers

Many survivors fear that sex or flirtation may trigger their anxiety or PTSD. Triggers are strange things. They may be the layout of a room, the scent of a particular aftershave, a song, or a particular pick-up line. Work on narrowing down what exactly triggers you. Often, you’ll find it’s not sex in general, but something much more specific. A hand on your shoulder from behind. A particular room in the house. The act of getting undressed in front of someone.

Once you recognize your triggers, you can hopefully avoid them, work around them, or at least mentally prepare yourself for them. Tell your spouse what they are, so they can avoid them too.

Decorate your home so it looks nothing like the place where you were abused. Use scented candles, laundry detergent, and other fragrances that are different than what you might have smelled where you were abused. Create a new environment for your new relationship that won’t reminded of your old relationship, even subconsciously.

One trigger of mine was the smell of freshly mown grass. Obviously, I couldn’t expect our neighbors to let their yards run wild, and I couldn’t cloister myself indoors to avoid such a common scent. So, I came up with an anti-trigger. I selected a good memory—the day my mom gifted me rose perfume—and leveraged it to combat my PTSD. I bought a small rose-scented candle and kept it in my purse. Whenever I began to feel depressed or anxious, I pulled it out and smelled my memory. It took me back to that happy moment; that feeling of being loved and safe.

While triggers create panic, anti-triggers bring calm. Think back to your own happy memories; a time when you felt safe, cared for, and at peace. It doesn’t have to be monumental, just sentimental. Now think of a little thing (a song, smell, activity, or item) that you could use to create an anti-trigger. Use that anti-trigger to relax yourself when you feel stressed. You may have to try several before you find one that works well, but don’t give up. When this technique works, it’s a gamechanger.

Look for Jesus in Your Loved One

Like all people, abuse survivors understand the world based on what we know. We see people and situations through the lens of our experiences, many of which were negative. Past events have informed our expectations and perception of others. But our fear is a learned behavior.

Abusers taught us to fear abuse. To fear sex. To fear trust. The good news is, if you could be taught to feel afraid, then you can also be taught to feel loved and safe. And you can teach yourself.

So, in closing, I’d like to encourage you to practice thinking about your godly spouse—not through that learned lens of abuse, but through the lens of Jesus. At first, it may feel awkward or unnatural, but after a while, equating your loved one with God’s love will begin to happen instinctually.

Is your loved one patient? Think about The Good Shepherd, patiently tending his sheep (Psalm 23John 10).

Is your loved one great with kids? Meditate on how Jesus loved the little children and blessed them (Matthew 19:13-15).

Do they help with housework? Recall how Jesus washed the disciple’s feet (John 13).

Are they the life of the party? Jesus was quite popular at that wedding in Cana! (John 2).

By doing this, you’re replacing painful triggers with new and positive emotional triggers. You’re turning your spouse into an anti-trigger.

So, practice emotionally linking your spouse with Jesus. The goal is to slowly unravel negative thought patterns and reknit your mind in patterns of grace and joy. We’re throwing out those old relationship blueprints of fear and shame, and replacing them with blueprints drafted by God himself.

It’s a process, but eventually, your new method of thinking will become ingrained. I had to make intentional repeated efforts to equate my husband with Jesus to avoid being subconsciously reminded of my abuser.

It took years, and I still work on it, but the result is ongoing spiritual growth and an increase in love, trust, and a feeling of safety.

I pray that this article, albeit a brief overview, encourages you as you grow and progress away from the mindset of abuse and into the mindset of God’s love. He created you. He created your spouse. He loves marriage and affection and family.

You are not defined by what others have done to you. In fact, you’re not defined even by what you yourself have done.

If you place your faith in Jesus, you are defined by the perfect and holy love of God.


headshot of Jennifer Greenberg

Jennifer Greenberg was abused by her church-going father. Yet she is still a Christian. In her courageous, compelling book Not Forsaken, she reflects on how God brought life and hope in the darkest of situations. Jenn shows how the gospel enables survivors to navigate issues of guilt, forgiveness, love, and value. And she challenges church leaders to protect the vulnerable among their congregations. Her reflections offer Biblical truths and gospel hope that can help survivors of abuse as well as those who walk alongside them.

Photo Credit: ©Unsplash/Kyle-bearden

Photo by Jonathan Borba from Pexels

Dear Encouragement Sisters,

I am married to a man who rarely worries about the future. He lives very much in the moment, and doesn’t often express fears or anxieties about what might come next.

In a way, I’m envious of him.

Thoughts about what “might” or “might not” happen, enter my mind all the time. And I find myself struggling to reel them in so they won’t take over.

Photo by Kat Jayne from Pexels

For all of you who are wondering what the future holds, and are feeling a bit of apprehension about it, here is a prayer of covering over you.

Holy God, merciful and mighty, I pray for all of my sisters in Christ who are reading this and wondering, “What next?”

Lord, You are the God of the past, present, and future. You hold eternity in your hand. Help us to trust You. Help us to know You have it all under control. Not only that, Lord, help us to surrender every anxious thought about the future.

I pray for each of my sisters today, that they will have such a flood of peace wash over them, they won’t be able to hold it in. I pray they will be so overwhelmed by Your provision, they won’t be able to contain it. And I ask that You will give them absolute assurance that everything is going to be alright. 

Thank You, Heavenly Father. We praise You. We place our trust fully in You today…and every day. In Jesus’ precious name, amen.

God bless you, my friends. God bless every step you take into the unknown future. 

Always an email away,

Jennifer

P.S. If you know of someone who would benefit from these Encourage Letters and prayers, please share my subscribe link with them. Thank you so much.


Jennifer Waddle/Noble Theme Press | 3630 Trailhill Pl., Colorado Springs
This email was sent to Unsubscribe | Forward this email to a friend
Powered by MailerLite

a little hope and healing

Be strong and courageous. — Kaitlin Wernet, The Book of Comforts

DevosDaily

Hope and Healing 

by Caleb Faires and Kaitlin Wernet, from The Book of Comforts

Meet Kaitlin
Be strong and courageous.

Jesus said to Jairus, “Don’t be afraid; just believe, and she will be healed.” — Luke 8:50 

I am prone to lose hope. As a father of five children, I desire to see them all well adjusted and hungry for Christ. What happens when one of them wanders? The waywardness of a son is a deep grief. My wife and I have sought to love him, bring the gospel to him, and find resources to aid him in his struggles, but we have been met with deceit, distrust, and dangerous behavior. At night, he has risen from bed and vandalized the house, endangering us all. I am prone to fear. After seven years of heart-wrenching struggle, I cry out, “How long, O Lord?” I am prone to lose hope.  

Do you believe that Christ can mend? Jairus’s daughter was dead, yet Jesus said, “She will be healed.” Not even the dead are beyond the reach of our Great Physician. No loss, no grief, no tragedy is beyond the power of Christ to restore, to console, to mend. Do your fears steal away your sleep?

Think on Him in the watches of the night. Does your heart ache with unbearable loss? This, too, will be healed. Jesus hears our griefs and knows them well, and He gives His sure words of comfort: “Don’t be afraid.”  

~ CALEB  

Be strong and courageous. Do not be afraid or discouraged. — 1 Chronicles 22:13 

There was a time in my life when strep throat was the worst-case scenario. I was a seven-year-old girl who adored school and hated doctors, especially doctors who wanted to ram oversized Q-tips down my throat.  

My younger brother held the same opinion about strep, but for him it was the antibiotics. I’m not sure who thought it was a good idea to flavor the already-terrible children’s medicine with sweetened hot-pink syrups, but my brother, who didn’t like desserts anyway, wasn’t fooled. So when sickness season came around and a nurse tried to soften the diagnosis with promises of “pink bubblegum!” and “strawberry milkshake!” we cried in unison.  

One winter night the situation was especially bleak. We had
the misfortune of not one, but two cases of strep throat. My brother resisted the prescribed medicine like a champ, pulling out just the right number of tears and kicks to send our family’s dinnertime peace into an immediate nosedive.

“You’ll love the pink bubblegum!” my parents pleaded.  

“Your favorite — strawberry milkshake!” they tried, knowing it was false.  

He needed backup. Enter yours truly, his seven-year-old sister, to the rescue. I jumped into the middle of the spat, motioning for him to climb on my back. Piggybacked and void of socks, jackets, or plans, I opened the door and whispered, “We’re running away. I won’t let them get you.” We ran out the back door and into the woods, only to abandon our plans and return home after hearing the first noise we couldn’t identify.  

I hated my little brother’s pain and wanted to help him find comfort as soon as possible. But finding temporary comfort wasn’t the same thing as healing.  

God doesn’t like our pain either, but His plan for us is better than our just escaping it.  

He wants to heal us and redeem us, providing each of His children with an active hope and eternal comfort. But we can’t always see the ways He’s doing this, and many times we may wonder if we’re still on His agenda at all. This is why we need strength and courage too — to bridge the gap between hurt and healed.  

God tells us to be strong and courageous because He knows we will want to listen to the pain rather than to His promises. He knows we will want to find our own solutions and escape routes, and He understands we will struggle to trust His plan is good when it feels anything but. Our fear is not a surprise to Him, which means He has anticipated it and prepared for it with the gift of His Word. Because of these promises, we can be brave.  

~ KAITLIN  

Excerpted with permission from The Book of Comforts by Caleb Faires, Rebecca Faires, Kaitlin Wernet, Cymone Wilder, copyright Caleb Faires, Rebecca Faires, Kaitlin Wernet, Cymone Wilder. 

. . . .

Your Turn

Jesus longs to bring you comfort and healing. His plan for you is good and will be for your good. Be strong and courageous, friend! Believe! Come share your thoughts on Jesus’ healing on our blog. We want to hear from you! ~ Devotionals Daily 

Wisdom for Today

“A fool spurns his father’s discipline, but whoever heed correction shows prudence.”- Proverbs 15: 5

Leave a comment