Dose of Devotion

 motivational quote: Every time I thought I was being rejected from something good, I was actually being re-directed to something better.  Steve Maraboli - Writer

“Today I will thank God for my spiritual ancestors who brought God’s Word to my land. Ask God if you may somehow, someday, be used to bring His Word to needy people.”

Promise #185

Picture

Promise #185:
I am a father to the fatherless and I defend the cause of widows.

Psalm 68:5 (WEB)
A father of the fatherless,
and a defender of the widows,
is God in his holy habitation.

It is such a comfort to know that God promises to be a father to the fatherless. In this fatherless generation that we live in, there has never been a greater need for a Father’s love than right now. With almost 50% of homes in many western countries ending up in divorce, there is a cry today that is echoed by Jesus’ disciples in John 14:8 to… “Show us the Father and it will be enough!”

God not only promises to be a father to the literal fatherless, but also for every person who feels an empty void in their heart for the love that can only come from God Himself. No matter how great our earthly dads are or were, even the best of their love cannot compare to the immense love that flows from the Father to us through His Holy Spirit.

In the same way that fatherless children need fathers, widows need a husband. Divorcees, singles, etc. all need a protecting love. The NKJV, NLT, NIV Bible versions all translate the above WEB Bible to say that God is a defender of widows. The ESV Bible says that God is their protector. In Isaiah 62:5, God promises to rejoice over Israel just like a bridegroom rejoices over His bride.

So whatever love we need, God is the ultimate source of it. 1 John 4:16 tells us that God is love. Whether we need a father, a mother, a friend or a husband, the love of God promises to fill every love deficit in our heart. May we all be comforted in knowing this today.

TRUSTING GOD DAY BY DAY

Confidence Leads To Reward

 
“Do not, therefore, fling away your fearless confidence, for it carries a great and glorious compensation of reward.” — Hebrews 10:35
 
Anytime I talk about fear, I think back to my first really sizable speaking engagement.  I actually got to stand in front of what would now be a small group of people, but then looked like a million people to me.  One of the workshop leaders for this event canceled and because somebody knew somebody who knew somebody who knew somebody who knew me — I was asked to speak at the event.  I was not their first choice, but God opened a door of opportunity and I gladly took it.
 
On opening night all of the speakers were sitting together.  It was Dr. So-and-So, and Bishop So-and-So, and Reverend So-and-So, and Joyce.  The devil was screaming in my ears, “What are you doing here?!  Why don’t you go back to Fenton where you came from?  You are going to make a fool out of yourself!”  I listened so much to what the devil was telling me that when it was my time to go up front and introduce myself and tell everybody what my workshop was going to be about, all I got out was a squeak.  I was so scared; I was a mess.  And I’m not even a really fearful person!  But I let the fearful thoughts in.
Think about how much calmer you can be by just stopping your thinking about some of the things you’re thinking about.  If you believe you’re doing what God wants you to do, then just do it.  Now I just show up and trust God.  Recently I spoke to nearly half a million people in India and I wasn’t nervous at all.  It gets easier when you have more experience trusting God; there is no doubt about that.
 
I remember having to make a decision the night of that first speaking engagement, to either open my mouth and try again or to run.  Obviously, I tried again because here we are.  What makes me sad is wondering how many people never try again.
 
Trust In Him — Conquer your fear by trusting God and doing what He tells you to do, even if you have to do it again and again and again before you succeed.
BibleGatewayHeader.jpg
An Encouraging Word from Max Lucado

Grateful for Grace

We must not see grace as a provision made after the law had failed. Grace was offered before the law was revealed. Indeed, grace was offered before man was created! “You were bought, not with something that ruins like gold or silver, but with the precious blood of Christ, who was like a pure and perfect lamb. Christ was chosen before the world was made, but he was shown to the world in these last times for your sake” (1 Pet. 1:18–20 NCV).

Why would God offer grace before we needed it? Glad you asked. Let’s return one final time to the charge card my father gave me. Did I mention that I went several months without needing it? But when I needed it, I really needed it. You see, I wanted to visit a friend on another campus. Actually, the friend was a girl in another city, six hours away. On an impulse I skipped class one Friday morning and headed out. Not knowing whether my parents would approve, I didn’t ask their permission. Because I left in a hurry, I forgot to take any money. I made the trip without their knowledge and with an empty wallet.

Everything went fine until I rear-ended a car on the return trip. Using a crowbar, I pried the fender off my front wheel so the car could limp to a gas station. I can still envision the outdoor phone where I stood in the autumn chill. My father, who assumed I was on campus, took my collect call and heard my tale. My story wasn’t much to boast about. I’d made a trip without his knowledge, without any money, and wrecked his car.

“Well,” he said after a long pause, “these things happen. That’s why I gave you the card. I hope you learned a lesson.”

Did I learn a lesson? I certainly did. I learned that my father’s forgiveness predated my mistake. He had given me the card before my wreck in the event that I would have one. He had provided for my blunder before I blundered. Need I tell you that God has done the same? Please understand; Dad didn’t want me to wreck the car. He didn’t give me the card so that I would wreck the car. But he knew his son. And he knew his son would someday need grace.

Please understand; God doesn’t want us to sin. He didn’t give us grace so we would sin. But he knows his children. “He made their hearts and understands everything they do” (Ps. 33:15 NCV). “He knows how we were made” (Ps. 103:14 NCV). And he knew that we would someday need his grace.

DaySpring Cards

Contagious

by: Candace Cameron Bure

Have you ever noticed how contagious generosity is? When I see someone going out of their way to help somebody else, I’m inspired. It makes me want to do the same.

That ripple effect of kindness has to be God at work in our lives – it just can’t be a coincidence that when the person ahead of you in the drive-through line offers to pay for your order, you suddenly want to pay for the car behind you. Scientists say that the boost of happiness we feel in that moment is a chemical reaction within our bodies. Yes, sure. But I also believe it is God smiling on us with pleasure.

I’m guilty, though, of sometimes being so focused on my to-do list that I forget to be looking out for ways to surprise people. Nevertheless, I want to get better at passing along the blessings. Maybe as we make acts of kindness contagious, others will join with us to pay it forward until no one is left untouched. Wouldn’t that be something? May it start with you and me, starting today!

I have willingly given all these things with an upright heart, and now I have seen Your people who are present here giving joyfully and willingly to You. (I Chronicles 29:17 HCSB)

I bring You open hands and an open heart today, God. Open my eyes as well so that I don’t miss that person You want me to bless.

This is an excerpt from 100 Days of Joy and Strength by Candace Cameron Bure – a devotional book released by DaySpring publishing. Learn more about this book, or shop other books & devotionals from DaySpring.

 

DaySpring Cards

Faith Like Fireworks

If you’ve ever watched fireworks, then you know how mesmerizing the view can be. Each tiny light makes its way into the darkness, and two perfectly-timed fuses within a shell perform their duty to create an illuminous masterpiece. If the shell sits in a covered box, protected from anything that might ignite it, then the beauty it contains is never seen. The incredible vision of light it provides is, sadly, never displayed.

We should have faith like fireworks, but sometimes expressing faith in Christ is challenging. I’ve had times when I’ve struggled with how to be a witness for Christ, and I’m guessing you have too. Putting our faith first can rub someone the wrong way or explaining a differing opinion can be taken from the opposite view we intended. Yet, God’s Word reveals that we are called to be a light in the world. Matthew 5:14-16 CSB reminds us:

“You are the light of the world. A city situated on a hill cannot be hidden. No one lights a lamp and puts it under a basket, but rather on a lampstand, and it gives light for all who are in the house. In the same way, let your light shine before others, so that they may see your good works and give glory to your Father in heaven.”

While it’s tempting to keep our “shells in the box” and avoid revealing the light of Christ inside our hearts, living our faith out loud isn’t an option if we truly love the Lord. As Christians, we must not be afraid to shine God’s light into the night sky, revealing the beauty of the Gospel to a dark world.

So how can we do this? Just like the perfectly-timed fuses contained with the shells of fireworks, the Holy Spirit within us can show us the way to spread the Light of the world. Watch for opportunities to share your own faith story in open situations. Always be ready to talk about the hope God has entrusted in you. Be in tune to say the right word at the appropriate time. Take action by serving others and meeting their needs, both physical and spiritual. What a wondrous display of God’s light to live each day intentionally, doing our part to love others!

This July 4th, we invite you to be brave and share your faith like fireworks. At DaySpring, we strive to equip people to know and share God’s love in fresh, true and inspiring ways. From our greeting cards to our inspirational mugs, Bible journaling tools, and home décor, it is our hope that these resources will further help you share His Words with others and #LiveYourFaith.

 

Looking for more inspiration? Check out these related articles:

What Freedom Really Means

How to Share God’s Love Through Neighborhood Gatherings

Making the Most of Your Family Reunion

This July 4th, let’s reveal the beauty of the Gospel to a dark world.
Crosswalk.com

A Prayer for Unity in Our Nation

Prayer for Unity in Our Nation
By Debbie McDaniel

“I in them and you in me–so that they may be brought to complete unity. Then the world will know that you sent me and have loved them even as you have loved me.” John 17:23

Often in times of greatest need, we may find ourselves giving way to the stress and strain by battling one another, and forgetting who the real enemy is. Harsh words spoken, friendships broken; we choose sides and draw lines. Feelings get hurt. Betrayal runs deep. It gets harder to forgive and keep moving forward. And sometimes we get stuck, right there in the muddy mess of it all.

enemy-fights-god-trust

Yet it’s in those very times of tension and struggle, that we need, more than ever, to come together as one, unified, and strong.

And we can be assured, it’s in those times, that Satan is fighting the hardest. For he knows that’s when we have the greatest potential to make a difference in this world.

He knows that we’re stronger together as we encourage one another on. He’s aware that we’re courageous and brave when we’re covering one another in prayer. He understands that the unity of believers through the power of Jesus Christ, is a force that can’t be reckoned with. For it’s hard to tear apart a cord of three strands, which can’t be easily broken.

That’s why he’s determined to fight harder. And he’s there, in the midst of it all, cheering on the battle. He loves it when we target one another. He laughs at evil, riots, and violence. He gains momentum when we forget that he’s the cause.

Don’t be unaware.

His schemes are cunning and cruel. He’ll twist words and truth, trading them for lies, and stirring up fires.

Let’s say “No more.”

Let’s choose to set aside our differences and look to the greater purpose in this life. To honor Christ as King. We’ll never agree on everything. And that’s never been the goal anyway.

Let’s choose to live out the Truth that says, “Let all that you do be done in love.” 1 Corinthians 16:14

All that you do. All that you say. All that you stand for. Let’s do it with love. For perfect love, which comes from Christ, casts out all fear. And that is what gives us power to move forward, propelled with His strength, surrounded in peace, eyes on the One who gives us breath each day, filled with greater unity in our land.

May God bless us with His peace and unity in our Nation.

Dear God,

We are needy of you. We’re aware, more than ever, of our own weaknesses, and of the struggle with dark forces that try hard to divide us and gain more ground. We say “No more.” We stand our ground. We ask that you would fill us with your Spirit of love and unity among believers all across this nation. We ask that you would help us to set aside our differences and look to the greater cause, the cause of Christ. We ask that you would help us to truly live a life of love. We know that this is only possible through the power of your Spirit, so we ask that you would move across our land in fresh ways. With fresh filling and awareness. Turning your people back to you. Drawing others to come to know you. We thank you that you are always with us, and give us great purpose and hope.

In Jesus’ Name,

Amen.

United we stand, in the love of Christ.

Now that you’ve prayed, are you in need of someone to pray for YOU? Click the button below!

Visit iBelieve.com for more inspiring prayer content.

Crosswalk.com

How to Walk in Freedom in America’s Troubling Landscape

  • Lynette Kittle
  • iBelieve Contributors

American flag, remembering the importance of Memorial Day

Many Americans may be wondering this 4th of July, what does freedom looks like in the midst of COVID-19 restrictions, racial unrest, and more?

For Christians living in uncertain times, we can to look to God for wisdom in how to freely live. Like Daniel 2:21 explains, “He changes times and seasons; He deposes kings and raises up others. He gives wisdom to the wise and knowledge to the discerning.”

Even when facing restrictions and national turmoil, in Christ we can freely practice what 1 Timothy 2:1-2 advises, “I urge, then, first of all, that petitions, prayers, intercession and thanksgiving be made for all people—for kings and all those in authority, that we may live peaceful and quiet lives in all godliness and holiness.”

Furthermore, despite current chaos, we can freely do what Romans 12:21, urges, “Do not be overcome by evil, but overcome evil with good.”

So what does freedom in Christ, along with the rights granted to us by the Declaration of Independence, look like in light of America’s troubling landscape?

Photo Credit: © John Silliman/Unsplash

What Are America’s Freedoms Based On?

Historian and author of American Amnesia Jerry Newcombe writes, “The essence of Americanism is God-given rights to ‘We the people.’”

Newcombe points out how when the Declaration of Independence was written, it was unlike any document written by any other nation because it stated above all, our rights come from God.

As the second paragraph explains: “We hold these truths to be self-evident, that all men are created equal, that they are endowed by their Creator with certain unalienable rights, that among these are Life, Liberty and the pursuit of Happiness.”

Newcombe notes how author and theologian C.K. Chesterton wrote, “The Declaration of Independence dogmatically bases all rights on the fact that God created all men equal.”

Historian and author, Bobbie Ames, writes in her book, Land That I Love, “In all the writing and journals of the founding period of America, our forefathers rejected all ideas, theories, and schools of thought that failed to affirm God as man’s Creator and the sole source of his rights.”

Likewise, President John F. Kennedy in his 1961 Inaugural Address stated: “The same revolutionary beliefs for which our forebears fought are still at issue around the globe—the beliefs that the rights of man come not from the generosity of the state, but from the hand of God.”

Although some groups in America’s history have failed to grasp the truth that all individuals are created in God’s image and granted the same rights and freedoms, “God-given rights are non-negotiable,” writes Newcombe, and “God-given rights supercede rights granted by man.”

diverse multicultural friends gathering for fourth of july celebration

Will “We the People” Use Our Freedom for Racial Equity?

Newcombe wrote in a recent article, “Rev. Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. once said that America’s problem is not with its creed—that all men are created equal. It’s that we have not been living up to that creed.”

As well, Dr. King’s niece, evangelist Alveda King, once told Newcombe in an interview how, “We could solve much of the racial conflict in this country if we would just accept what the Bible teaches: You go to Acts 17:26Of one blood God created all people to live together on the earth.’ Now, if we are separate races, we cannot possibly be brothers and sisters. So, we have to see ourselves as one race, one human race, created by God, and we’re supposed to live together in this world as brothers and sisters. So, that’s a fundamental truth that America has not yet embraced.”

Romans 2:11, explains how God is not partial and does not show favoritism among people. Likewise, Galatians 3:28 describes how God sees people, “There is neither Jew nor Gentile, neither slave nor free, nor is there male and female, for you are all one in Christ Jesus.”

Revelation 7:9 gives us a glimpse of God’s will for His Church, “After this I looked, and there before me was a great multitude that no one could count, from every nation, tribe, people and language, standing before the throne and before the Lamb. They were wearing white robes and were holding palm branches in their hands” (Revelation 7:9).

Photo Credit: © Getty Images/monkeybusinessimages

Are “We the People” Free to Seek Reconciliation?

Evangelist Billy Graham wrote: “Racism is a sin precisely because it keeps us from obeying God’s command to love our neighbor, and because it has its roots in pride and arrogance. Christians who harbor racism in their attitudes or actions are not following their Lord at this point, for Christ came to bring reconciliation—reconciliation between us and God, and reconciliation between each other.”

Like 2 Corinthians 5:18 explains, “All this is from God, who reconciled us to Himself through Christ and gave us the ministry of reconciliation.”

Because racism is a spiritual condition of the heart rooted in sin, God calls individuals to examine their hearts. “Examine yourselves to see whether you are in the faith; test yourselves. Do you not realize that Christ Jesus is in you—unless of course, you fail the test” (2 Corinthians 13:5).

As well, Psalm 26:2, encourages all to seek God’s help by asking, “Test me, Lord, and try me, examine my heart and my mind.”

As Christian Headlines reports, Pastor Tony Evans believes the Church in American has the answer to heal the divide, stating it will happen when Christians cross racial lines to serve others in need. He believes the Church needs to lead the way rather than merely reacting to what people are doing at either extreme in our culture.

Like Galatians 5:13,14 explains, “You, my brothers and sisters, were called to be free. But do not use your freedom to indulge the flesh; rather, serve one another humbly in love. For the entire law is fulfilled in keeping this one command: ‘Love your neighbor as yourself.’”

Are “We the People” Free to Be Forgiven and to Forgive?

As Newcombe explains, despite all of America’s flaws and all the ugly chapters in its history, our foundation is based on the truth that all individuals are created in the image of God, which comes with the belief that all people are born with an unalienable right to freedom. He emphasizes how Jesus Christ makes it all possible with His free gift of Salvation to all who freely receive it. Like John 8:36 declares, “So if the Son sets you free, you will be free indeed.”

Furthermore, 1 John 1:7, explains how the blood of Jesus purifies us from all sin. Because racism is rooted in sin, only the blood of Christ is powerful enough to cleanse us and wash it away, ridding sinful hearts of its destructive effects.

As 1 John 1:9 explains, “If we confess our sins, He is faithful and just and will forgive us our sins and purify us from all unrighteousness.”

Likewise Isaiah 1:18, describes how God’s arms are open wide to us when we come to Him with repentant hearts. “’Come now, let us settle the matter,’ says the Lord. ‘Though your sins are like scarlet, they shall be as white as snow; though they are red as crimson, they shall be like wool.’”

Graham wrote, “Only the supernatural love of God can change our hearts in a lasting way and replace hatred and indifference with love and active compassion.”

As forgiven people, Colossians 3:13 urges us to “Bear with each other and forgive one another if any of you has a grievance against someone. Forgive as the Lord forgave you.”

Lynette Kittle is married with four daughters. She enjoys writing about faith, marriage, parenting, relationships, and life. Her writing has been published by Focus on the Family, Decision, Today’s Christian Woman, kirkcameron.com, Ungrind.org, StartMarriageRight.com, and more. She has a M.A. in Communication from Regent University and serves as associate producer for Soul Check TV.


Want more interaction with the women of iBelieve? Join our fans, writers, and editors at the iBelieve Facebook group, Together in Faith, for more videos, stories, testimonies, prayers and more. Visit here to join the community!

iBelieve.com

20 Bible Verses and Quotes on Freedom

bible verses and quotes freedom

Freedom is a precious gift. Thank God for it today…

This is a week to be grateful.

This is a week to be grateful.

 

This is a week to say thank you. To those who have gone before us. To those who protect and serve our nation today.  And most importantly, to our Savior, who paid the ultimate price, so that we can live free. Forever. Freedom is a precious gift. Thank God for it today…

Here are 20 Great Verses and Quotes on Freedom, to Remind Us, It Is Not Free:

1. John 8:32

1. John 8:32

 

“And you will know the truth, and the truth will set you free.”  –John 8:32

2. John 8:36

2. John 8:36

 

“So if the Son sets you free, you will be free indeed.”  John 8:36

3. Galatians 5:1

3. Galatians 5:1

 

“For freedom Christ has set us free; stand firm…” Galatians 5:1

4. 1 Peter 2:16

4. 1 Peter 2:16

 

“Live as people who are free, not using your freedom as a cover-up for evil, but living as servants of God.”  –1 Peter 2:16

5. 2 Corinthians 3:17

5. 2 Corinthians 3:17

 

“Now the Lord is the Spirit, and where the Spirit of the Lord is, there is freedom.”  –2 Corinthians 3:17

6. Galatians 5:13

6. Galatians 5:13

 

“For you were called to freedom, brothers. Only do not use your freedom as an opportunity for the flesh, but through love serve one another.”  Galatians 5:13

7. Isaiah 61:1

7. Isaiah 61:1

 

“The Spirit of the Lord God is upon me, because the Lord has anointed me to bring good news to the poor; he has sent me to bind up the brokenhearted, to proclaim liberty to the captives, and the opening of the prison to those who are bound.” –Isaiah 61:1

8. Romans 8:1

8. Romans 8:1

 

“There is therefore now no condemnation for those who are in Christ Jesus.”  –Romans 8:1

9. John 10:10

9. John 10:10

 

“The thief comes only to steal and kill and destroy. I came that they may have life and have it abundantly.”  John 10:10

10. Romans 6:22

10. Romans 6:22

 

“But now you are free from the power of sin. You have become a servant for God. Your life is set apart for God-like living. The end is life that lasts forever.”  Romans 6:22

11. Martin Luther King, Jr.

11. Martin Luther King, Jr.

 

In the process of gaining our rightful place, we must not be guilty of wrongful deeds. Let us not seek to satisfy our thirst for freedom by drinking from the cup of bitterness and hatred. We must forever conduct our struggle on the high plane of dignity and discipline.”  -Martin Luther King, Jr.

12. Dwight D. Eisenhower

12. Dwight D. Eisenhower

 

Only our individual faith in freedom can keep us free.”  -Dwight D. Eisenhower

13. Thomas Jefferson

13. Thomas Jefferson

 

Our greatest happiness does not depend on the condition of life in which chance has placed us, but is always the result of a good conscience, good health, occupation and freedom in all just pursuits.”  -Thomas Jefferson

14. Nelson Mandela

14. Nelson Mandela

 

For to be free is not merely to cast off one’s chains, but to live in a way that respects and enhances the freedom of others.”  -Nelson Mandela

15. Ronald Reagan

15. Ronald Reagan

 

Freedom is never more than one generation away from extinction. We didn’t pass it to our children in the bloodstream. It must be fought for, protected, and handed on for them to do the same.”  -Ronald Reagan

16. John Quincy Adams

16. John Quincy Adams

 

“Posterity — you will never know how much it has cost my generation to preserve your freedom. I hope you will make good use of it.”  -John Quincy Adams

17. Thomas Jefferson

17. Thomas Jefferson

 

We hold these truths to be self-evident: that all men are created equal; that they are endowed by their Creator with certain unalienable rights; that among these are life, liberty, and the pursuit of happiness.”  -Thomas Jefferson

18. Abraham Lincoln

18. Abraham Lincoln

 

Those who deny freedom to others deserve it not for themselves.”  -Abraham Lincoln

19. Billy Graham

19. Billy Graham

 

The framers of our Constitution meant we were to have freedom of religion, not freedom from religion.”  -Billy Graham

20. Corrie ten Boom

20. Corrie ten Boom

 

Forgiveness is the key that unlocks the door of resentment and the handcuffs of hatred. It is a power that breaks the chains of bitterness and the shackles of selfishness.”  -Corrie ten Boom

A Prayer for Freedom

A Prayer for Freedom

 

Dear God,

We thank you for the freedom you have given to us, and for the price that was paid by Jesus so that we could live free.  We remember today.  The cost of it all. Help us to walk in the ways that you lead.  We desire to follow your voice, to press in close and hear your heart for our nation.

In Jesus’ name,
Amen.

Content taken from 20 Verses & Quotes on Freedom (to Remind Us it Isn’t Free) by Debbie McDaniel. 

Debbie McDaniel is a writer, pastor’s wife, mom to three amazing kids (and a lot of pets). Join her each morning on Fresh Day Ahead’s facebook page, http://www.facebook.com/DebbieWebbMcDaniel, for daily encouragement in living strong, free, hope-filled lives. Find her also at http://twitter.com/debbmcdaniel.

 

📜 We hold these truths to be self-evident…

Now the Lord is the Spirit; and where the Spirit of the Lord is, there is liberty. — 2 Corinthians 3:17

Devotionals Daily

Declaring Independence

from God’s Promises For The American Patriot

Happy 4th of July from FaithGateway!

Adopted on July 4, 1776, the Declaration of Independence stated that the thirteen American colonies were “Free and Independent States” and that “all political connection between them and the State of Great Britain, is and ought to be totally dissolved.”

Our Founding Fathers acknowledged God as the source of our rights:

We hold these truths to be self-evident, that all men are created equal, that they are endowed by their Creator with certain unalienable Rights, that among these are Life, Liberty and the pursuit of Happiness — That to secure these rights, Governments are instituted among Men, deriving their just Powers from the consent of the governed — That whenever any Form of Government becomes destructive of these ends, it is the Right of the People to alter or to abolish it, and to institute new Government, laying its foundation on such principles and organizing its powers in such form, as to them shall seem most likely to effect their Safety and Happiness… For the support of this Declaration, with a firm reliance on the protection of Divine Providence, we mutually pledge to each other our Lives, our Fortunes and our sacred Honor.

God’s Promises in the Scriptures:
There is therefore now no condemnation to those who are in Christ Jesus, who do not walk according to the flesh, but according to the Spirit. For the law of the Spirit of life in Christ Jesus has made me free from the law of sin and death. — Romans 8:1-2

Happy is he who has the God of Jacob for his help,
Whose hope is in the Lord his God,
Who made Heaven and earth,
The sea, and all that is in them;
Who keeps truth forever,
Who executes justice for the oppressed,
Who gives food to the hungry.
The Lord gives freedom to the prisoners.

— Psalm 146:5-7

Now the Lord is the Spirit; and where the Spirit of the Lord is, there is liberty. — 2 Corinthians 3:17
Excerpted from God’s Promises For The American Patriot by Jack Countryman and Dr. Richard Lee, copyright Jack Countryman and Dr. Richard Lee.

* * *


Your Turn

Happy Independence Day to our American friends and readers! We would love to hear from you about what you love most about freedom. Come share with us on our blog! ~ Devotionals Daily

Daily Devotion

Victories In The Battles Of Life

“The Lord who rescued me from the paw of the lion and the paw of the bear, will rescue me from the hand of the Philistine” – 1 Samuel 17:37

 

Dear Lord, help me be bold and confident like David in the battles I face. Help me rely solely on Your power to give me victory. The battle is Yours. Amen

Leave a comment