Daily Devotion & Affirmation

 motivational quote: Climb mountains not so the world can see you, but so you can see the world.  David McCullough - Author-Historian-Lecturer

Today I will sing to the Lord in my spirit and gain encouragement for service to Him. Lord, I ask You to help me be one who is always singing Your praises with my spirit.”

Promise #264

Picture

Promise #264:
If you wait for Me, I will renew your strength.

Isaiah 40:31 (WEB)
31 But they that wait upon the LORD shall renew their strength; they shall mount up
with wings as eagles; they shall run, and not be weary; and they shall walk, and not faint.

When we think of waiting, whether it is waiting in a car for a friend, waiting in a doctor’s office for an appointment, or waiting in a check out line, we might tend to think of waiting as being a time of inactivity or passivity. After all, while we are waiting, we aren’t actually doing anything… or are we?

When we wait for somebody or something, we are actually in a posture of submission to somebody or something. For example, if you are waiting in a car for a friend, you have positioned yourself to be vulnerable to however long your friend takes to come into the car. When you are waiting in a doctor’s office, you have given the doctor and his/her staff the power to choose who is next in line for their appointment.

While we may see waiting as inactive, it is actually the opposite in many cases. For me, a self-described ‘type A personalty’, waiting can be very difficult at times. The longer I wait, the more I begin to scream on the inside for something to happen! For me, waiting isn’t passive or inactive, waiting is one of the most active things I can do.

In today’s promise, we read that if we wait on the Lord, He will renew our strength. When we choose to humble ourselves before Almighty God and acknowledge that it is His will and direction that we are looking for, we are positioning ourselves to wait for Him to give us the guidance we are looking for. When we wait on Him, we are honoring Him and choosing not to ‘lean to our own understanding’ as mentioned in Proverbs 3:5-6.

Waiting on the Lord is one of the most active things we can do. It can be difficult at times because we are not in control of when and where God will move. We simply wait for Him to do what He wants to do, but the promise that we have today is that when we wait for Him, He will be faithful to renew our strength!

FINDING REST

A Season Of Rest

 
“Sow righteousness for yourselves, reap the fruit of unfailing love, and break up your unplowed ground; for it is time to seek the Lord, until he comes and showers his righteousness on you.” — Hosea 10:12
 
Autumn is arriving.  Depending on where you live, the leaves are changing colors, temperatures are dropping, evenings are filled with the scent of bonfires, and fields are bursting with pumpkins.  The changing of the seasons is a wonderful reminder for us to rest.
 
As Ecclesiastes notes, there is a time and a season for all things.  Strawberry plants bloom in spring, roses open their buds in summer, and fall is the time trees shed their leaves and all of nature prepared for winter’s rest.
 
Maybe you are in a season of producing.  Your schedule is busy, and you’re growing weary.  Remember, there will be an end to this season, and sometimes you may need to help it along.  Don’t live year-round in the summer of busyness.  Give yourself the slowing down of fall; prepare yourself for a season of rest.
 
Lord, give me the wisdom to know when it is time for a season of rest.
Presented By Bible Gateway

Temple Builders and Savior Seekers

The next time you enter an assembly of worship, watch the people. You can tell the ones who remember the slain one. They’re wide-eyed and expectant. You don’t yawn while receiving a gift from the king himself!

You can also tell the ones who see only the temple. Their eyes wander. Their mouths open—not to sing, but to yawn.

The temple gazers don’t mean to be bored. But the one they once planned to honor hasn’t been seen in a while. But those who have seen him can’t forget him. They find him, often in spite of the temple rather than because of it.

The temple builders and the Savior seekers. One sees the structure and says, “What a great church.” The other sees the Savior and says, “What a great Christ!” Which do you see?

Presented By Bible Gateway

Love Like You Are Loved

The Greek word used for love (agape) denotes an unselfish affection. Agape love forgives the mistake when the offense is high, offers patience when stress is abundant, and extends kindness when kindness is rare. The agape tree is rooted in the soil of devotion. But don’t think for a moment that its fruit is sour. A sweet happiness awaits those who are willing to care for the orchard.

Do you find such love difficult to muster? If so, you may be missing a step. Love for others begins, not by giving love, but by receiving the love of Christ.

Have you let God love you? Have you let God’s love seep into the innermost recesses of your life?

We don’t love people because people are lovable. We love people for this reason: we have come to experience and believe the love that God has for us. We are beneficiaries of an unexpected, undeserved, yet undeniable gift- the love of God.

Be loved. Then love. We cannot love if we aren’t first loved. Just as hurt people hurt people, loved people love people.

So let God love you!

Does he love us because of our goodness? Because of our kindness? Because of our great devotion? No, he loves us because of his goodness, kindness, and great devotion.

The reason God loves you is that he has chosen to love you.

We must start here. Settle yourself into the hammock of God’s affection. And as you do, to the degree you do, you will give that love to others.

Prepare yourself for a new day. As God has his way with you, as he loves through you, those old animosities and barbed-wire fences are going to come down. God will not let you live with you old hatred and prejudices. As God’s love flows through you, you will see people in a different way.

That’s how happiness happens.

DaySpring Cards

Excuses, Excuses

by: Susan Goss

Therefore, if you are bringing an offering to God and you remember that your brother is angry at you or holds a grudge against you, then leave your gift before the altar, go to your brother, repent and forgive one another, be reconciled, and then return to the altar to offer your gift to God. (Matthew 5:23-24 The Voice)

“I’m sorry but…” Did that sting? Someone just hurt you and then they come back with, “I’m sorry… (get ready for it)… but.” Once the but is added, it negates the apology doesn’t it? To the one who has been hurt, it starts feeling more like an excuse rather than an apology. Oh, the power of a genuine apology… a humble one without any excuses or rationalizations because then the one who has been hurt feels validated that they have been wronged. Now someone is acknowledging that by saying I’m sorry… period… no buts… only I’m sorry. Saying “I’m sorry… but” is #1 insincere and #2 like pointing a finger. Benjamin Franklin once said, “Never ruin an apology with an excuse.” It is important to be ready with a sincere heart before you apologize because you do not know how the other person will receive it. We can only do our part.

Tangible Takeaway:

Now read Psalm 51 in full and follow David’s model of a sincere apology.

He showed sorrow.

He owned up to his sin.

He asked for forgiveness.

He expressed desire to do right.

This is an excerpt from We’re Still in This by Susan Goss – a new relationship devotional book released by DaySpring publishing. Learn more about this book, or shop other books from DaySpring.

iBelieve.com

How to Enjoy Your Dependence on God

How to Enjoy Your Dependence on God

How to Enjoy Your Dependence on God

How to Enjoy Your Dependence on God

I couldn’t stop the tears even though I was exhausted from crying. I made my way to the front of the church for prayer, again. I had given my struggle over to God last week during Sunday morning service, and the week before that, and the week before that. But I couldn’t seem to rest in knowing He had it all under control. I still dragged around a weight of responsibility that grew heavier each day.

This became a familiar pattern in my life. I read verses. I prayed. I told God I trusted Him with my circumstances. Yet time and time again I found myself agonizing over the same problems. I lived each day feeling more tired than the day before. My joy had been zapped by worry, weariness, and defeat. I longed for change and wanted to enjoy my dependence on God’s grace in my life. But how? How could I truly cast my cares on Him and embrace the victory He gave?

It’s easy to get so used to life’s struggles that we forget to “rejoice in our confident hope.” (Romans 12:12) But the apostle Paul reminds us of God’s sustaining presence in Philippians 4:6-7“Don’t worry about anything; instead, pray about everything. Tell God what you need, and thank him for all he has done. Then you will experience God’s peace, which exceeds anything we can understand. His peace will guard your hearts and minds as you live in Christ Jesus.”

When we understand the freedom that comes with fully depending on God, we will also rediscover the enjoyable life He intends for us to have. It’s here and available to us, if we are willing to receive it.

Let’s allow the following reminders to help us, as we choose to enjoy our dependence on our God.

Accept the peace that comes through your dependence on God.

I recall the overwhelming feeling of worry that accompanied me to church that day. When my pastor noticed tears forming behind my glasses, he made his way over to my seat. I have no doubt God directed him as he administered a dose of tough love that the Lord knew I needed.

“This is not about them. This is about you.” His hand stretched toward my family, then pointed back to me. God’s message pierced my heart. I realized worry over our current circumstances had consumed my thoughts. I needed to reconfirm my dependence on God for the wellbeing of my family and accept peace once again.

“Peace I leave with you; my peace I give you.” (John 14:27)

In the most uncertain time of the disciples’ lives, Jesus gave them a gift with eternal value. The gift of His peace. Though they didn’t understand what was about to happen to Jesus, they accepted His words and agreed to trust His will.

Jesus’ gift is still available to us, but we need to release whatever we are holding onto today and open our arms to receive it. If we don’t welcome His peace, we risk allowing fear, worry, and frustration into our lives. Jesus’ peace is more powerful than all of these combined. Let’s thank him for this incredible gift and enjoy peace as we trust our families and futures to him.

Realize there is rest through your dependence on God.

What did I do wrong? How can I fix this? If only I’d done it this way instead. Have you ever noticed how thoughts start small, then grow and grow until they totally consume you? Then, it seems nearly impossible to turn them off. They play on repeat in your mind, even when you try to find rest.

Nothing zaps my strength like carrying around a burden that was never meant for me. I can begin my day with an inspiring devotion, Scripture reading, and prayer, and still catch myself agonizing over life’s messes a few minutes later. It’s in those moments I need to reaffirm my belief that God is in control of my situation. I do this by asking myself the following questions.

Do I believe God holds me in the palm of His hand?

“He made my words like a sharp sword. He hid me in the palm of his hand. He made me into a sharpened arrow. He took good care of me and kept me safe.” (Isaiah 49:2)

Do I believe God has good intentions for me and my family?

“For I know the thoughts I think toward you, says the Lord, thoughts of peace and not of evil, to give you a future and a hope.” (Jeremiah 29:11)

Do I believe God can do a better job of handling this problem than I can?

“As the heavens are higher than the earth, so are my ways higher than your ways and my thoughts than your thoughts.” (Isaiah 55:9)

The answer to each of these questions is a resounding, “Yes!” And as we trade thoughts of turmoil with affirmations from God’s word, we will feel joy return and find the rest God gives to those He loves (Psalm 127:2).

Find freedom through your dependence on God.

You see, I thought my weariness came from the troubles my family was going through. I didn’t think I’d be happy again until we got past our problems. Everyone has a mountain to climb now and then, and I hoped we could just hold on until we made it to the other side. I wanted a downward slope where I could breathe and enjoy the view for a while. But God knew I needed more than to hold on and get through it. I sensed the need to search my heart and allow God to “renew a steadfast spirit within me.” (Psalm 51:10)

I faced a convicting truth during that defining day at church. God gave me a choice. I could continue to live with doubt, worry, and weariness, or I could find freedom. I said I trusted Him to provide for my needs and protect my family. But did I depend on Him enough to actually receive joy in the midst of my problems?

Once I renewed my commitment to give these burdens back to God, something amazing happened.

I didn’t walk out of church that day with a resolution or changed circumstances. The problem didn’t go away, but I’m totally okay with that, because I left with something even better. I left with a renewed freedom in Jesus Christ that brought a bounce back to my step I’d forgotten I had. I found joy in letting God be God.

When we find ourselves stuck in a hopeless place, our loving Father tells us there’s so much more to this abundant life He offers. If we wait for life to calm down before enjoying our dependence on God, we will miss out on the unspeakable joy He created just for us.

It is possible to enjoy life, even when we’re facing one battle after another. In the middle of our struggles, we have joy through His presence. Even when problems persist, God gives us reason to rejoice. Let’s reclaim the peace, rest, and freedom God gave us, so that we can enjoy every moment of our dependence on Him.


Kristine Brown is the author of the book,Over It. Conquering Comparison to Live Out God’s Plan, and the upcoming companion devotional for teen girls. For more resources from Kristine, visit her Life Enrichment Library at kristinebrown.net. You’ll find weekly encouragement to help you “become more than yourself through God’s Word” at her website. 

Photo Credit: Getty Images/Jamie Grill

FaithGateway Today

A Good Way to Start Your Day

by Sheila Walsh, from 5 Minutes with Jesus

Meet Sheila Walsh

Psalm 5:3

I don’t trust hotel wake-up calls. Whether you will actually receive one when you ask seems to depend on the state of mind of the person entering your request. If he’s just broken up with his girlfriend, for example, and her name happens to be Sheila, I’m either getting a call in the middle of the night or none at all. So I set my own alarm on my phone. I actually set two. The first is when it would be good to get up, and the second is when I’d jolly well better get up.

I’m just not a morning person, so I like to ease into a day slowly.

I used to crawl out of bed, check that our son was up and in the shower, turn on the television to the morning news, and make myself a cup of coffee.

It’s not a bad way to start the day, but I’ve found a much better way. I realized that if the first thing I pay attention to is what’s happening in our world, those images and words impact my view of the rest of the day. But if the Word of God is the first thing I give my heart and mind to, I see everything as under the control of my all-good, all-powerful, and all-loving heavenly Father.

It’s hardly surprising that this new start to my day has had a huge impact on my life.

The moment I awake, I say Psalm 143:8 (NIV) to myself—or, if Barry is already awake, I say it out loud. I repeat the verse several times. It’s become a great way to start a day:

Let the morning bring me word of your unfailing love, My love will fall and fail, but God’s love never will. for I have placed my trust in you.

The psalmist is very intentional here: trusting God is an act of the will.

Show me the way I should go, I pray,

“Show me, Father, which way I should go today.” for to you I entrust my life. I say, “My life is Yours, Lord, and I trust You with everything.”

Then I pray these simple words:

“Good morning, Lord! I don’t know where You are going today, but wherever You’re going, I’m comin’ with You!”

A good way to start the day every single day is to declare the Word of God and thank Him for it.

Five Minutes in the Word

Let the morning bring me word of your unfailing love, for I have put my trust in you. Show me the way I should go, for to you I entrust my life. – Psalm 143:8 NIV

The steadfast love of the Lord never ceases; his mercies never come to an end; they are new every morning; great is your faithfulness. – Lamentations 3:22–23 ESV

Weeping may last through the night, but joy comes with the morning. – Psalm 30:5

It is good to proclaim your unfailing love in the morning, your faithfulness in the evening. – Psalm 92:2

Very early in the morning, while it was still dark, Jesus got up, left the house and went off to a solitary place, where he prayed. – Mark 1:35 NIV

Excerpted with permission from 5 Minutes with Jesus by Sheila Walsh, copyright Sheila Walsh.

* * *

How Do You Start Your Day?

Do you have a daily declaration before you climb out of bed and your feet hit the ground? If not, try out Sheila’s for the day – “Good morning, Lord! I don’t know where You are going today, but wherever You’re going, I’m comin’ with You!”

Are you looking to reignite your daily quiet time with Jesus? Maybe to recommit to starting your day with Him?

Take the 5 Minutes with Jesus Challenge with our community here at FaithGateway – starting October 1st!  God’s time is not like ours, and when we give Him our time, He can do more within us in five minutes than if we spent five hours on our own!

When you sign up you receive the FREE Quiet Time Strategies Bundle from Sheila Walsh with more great tips on starting a daily quiet time habit.

Leave a comment