Dose of Devotion

 motivational quote: Energy and persistence conquer all things.    Benjamin Franklin - 1706-1790 - Statesman-Author-Publisher-Scientist-Inventor
BibleGatewayHeader.jpg
Standing Strong Through the Storm

BECOME A DISCIPLE

Then Jesus came to them and said, “All authority in heaven and on earth has been given to me. Therefore go and make disciples of all nations, baptizing them in the name of the Father and of the Son and of the Holy Spirit, and teaching them to obey everything I have commanded you. And surely I am with you always, to the very end of the age.” Matthew 28:18-20

Sixty-three-year-old Lena has established several secret churches in her Central Asia country. She now leads seven house fellowships which meet together in small groups. On several occasions she has had to cope with arrests. “One time police with guns entered the house where we were meeting with a group. We were taken off to the station. Of course we were afraid,” says Lena. The reason why Lena can talk so “nonchalantly” about her arrest follows quickly. She does not necessarily see it as a problem, but as an opportunity to testify.

“I experienced how God took away my fear and gave me peace. Even more, I had the chance to tell the gospel to the head of police. While we were locked up there, I simply started to talk. I was given the opportunity to tell him what God had done for me,” says Lena. “After some time, the man only said, ‘Take your group away.’”

While she is telling her story, there is not a trace of fear, anger or bitterness to be found on her face because of the injustice. When asked how this is possible, Lena only has one answer. In God’s Word, it says that for a long time there will be persecution, but that He will also grant a way out. She recalls Isaiah 41:10, which says, So do not fear, for I am with you; do not be dismayed, for I am your God. I will strengthen you and help you; I will uphold you with my righteous right hand. So Lena lives out her life in Uzbekistan, bearing in mind that God is watching over her everywhere.

She provides Bible teaching for Christians and has a heart for work with children and young people adding, “We have to do everything to help Christians to become mature believers.” For example, Lena and other Christians try to hold annual children’s camps where, for a few days, the children are introduced to the gospel through play. The enthusiasm of the children makes it clear that the camps are a success. But Lena and her staff encounter problems year after year. “It’s difficult to find a suitable location, where we can receive the children in safety. And things remain tense: the police may always come and disrupt the camp.”

Despite these difficulties, Lena does not give up. She sees the church growing and hammers home the missionary message of Matthew 28, in which Jesus calls on us to make disciples of all nations. This message is what Lena is living out, in the midst of persecution.

“We must understand that the church cannot grow without disciples,” emphasises Lena. “Become a disciple!”

RESPONSE: Today I will become a true disciple of Jesus using every situation—good or bad—to share my faith with everyone and encourage and train other younger believers.

PRAYER: Pray for Lena and others like her growing the Church of Jesus amid great persecution.

BibleGatewayHeader.jpg
An Encouraging Word from Max Lucado

An Interview from Death Row

I sit a few feet from a man on death row. Jewish by birth. Tentmaker by trade. Apostle by calling. His days are marked. I’m curious about what bolsters this man as he nears his execution. So I ask some questions.

Do you have family, Paul? I have none.
What about your health? My body is beaten and tired.
What do you own? I have my parchments. My pen. A cloak.
And your reputation? Well, it’s not much. I’m a heretic to some, a maverick to others.
Do you have friends? I do, but even some of them have turned back.
Any awards? Not on earth.

Then what do you have, Paul? No belongings. No family. Criticized by some. Mocked by others. What do you have, Paul? What do you have that matters?

I sit back quietly and watch. Paul rolls his hand into a fist. He looks at it. I look at it. What is he holding? What does he have? He extends his hand so I can see. As I lean forward, he opens his fingers. I peer at his palm. It’s empty.

I have my faith. It’s all I have. But it’s all I need. I have kept the faith.

Paul leans back against the wall of his cell and smiles. And I lean back against another and stare into the face of a man who has learned that there is more to life than meets the eye.

For that’s what faith is. Faith is trusting what the eye can’t see.

Eyes see the prowling lion. Faith sees Daniel’s angel.
Eyes see storms. Faith sees Noah’s rainbow.
Eyes see giants. Faith sees Canaan.
Your eyes see your faults. Your faith sees your Savior.
Your eyes see your guilt. Your faith sees his blood.
Your eyes see your grave. Your faith sees a city whose builder and maker is God.

Your eyes look in the mirror and see a sinner, a failure, a promise-breaker. But by faith you look in the mirror and see a robed prodigal bearing the ring of grace on your finger and the kiss of your Father on your face.

Promise #353

Picture

Promise #353:
I will provide what you need every day.

Matthew 6:11 (WEB)
Give us today our daily bread.

In Matthew 6:9-14 we read the prayer that Jesus taught us to pray…9 After this manner therefore pray ye: Our Father which art in heaven, Hallowed be thy name. 10 Thy kingdom come, Thy will be done in earth, as it is in heaven. 11 Give us this day our daily bread. 12 And forgive us our debts, as we forgive our debtors. 13 And lead us not into temptation, but deliver us from evil: For thine is the kingdom, and the power, and the glory, for ever. Amen. (KJV)

Since we know that Jesus encouraged us to ask, seek & knock, with the promise that our God and Father would hear our prayers, then we can only assume that everything we pray in The Lord’s Prayer will be answered by our Heavenly Dad.

In verse 11, Jesus teaches us to ask our Father to provide our daily bread. If Jesus told us to ask for daily provision, then it was because He knew that His Father would provide what we need every day.  We only need to ask and trust Him to provide because that is what good fathers do.

So don’t be afraid to pray to your Heavenly Father today and say… “Give us this day our daily bread”. (For a further reminder of this promise, read Matthew 6:25-34.)

TRUSTING GOD DAY BY DAY

Love With Your Thoughts

“Search me [thoroughly], O God, and know my heart!  Try me and know my thoughts!” — Psalm 139:23


I believe thoughts work in the spiritual realm. That means that although they cannot be seen with the naked eye, our thoughts can be felt by other people.  We think countless thoughts about other people, but we should do so responsibly.


What we think about people not only affects them, it also affects the way we treat them when we are around them.  For example, one day I was shopping with my daughter who was a teenager at the time.  She had lots of pimples on her face that day and her hair was a mess.  I remember thinking each time I looked at her, “You sure don’t look very good today”.  I noticed as the day wore on that she seemed to be depressed so I asked her what was wrong.  She replied, ” I just feel really ugly today”.


God taught me a lesson that day about the power of thoughts.  We can help people with good, loving, and positive thoughts, but we can hurt them with evil, unloving, negative thoughts.


I encourage you to take a person a day as a prayer project and practice thinking good things about them on purpose.  Throughout the day, have some think-sessions where you meditate on the strengths of the person — every good quality you can think of that they have, every favor they have ever done you, and any complimentary thing you can think of about their appearance.  The next day, practice on another person, and keep rotating the important people in your life until you have formed a habit of thinking good things.


Trust In Him — Are you loving people with your thoughts?  Trust God to show you anytime that you are not thinking with love, and be willing to change immediately.

DaySpring Cards

Talking About Jesus

 by: Shanna Noel

And [Anna] spoke about the child to all who were looking forward to the time when Jerusalem would be set free. (LUKE 2:38
 

Yesterday we saw that Simeon waited for the Lord’s Savior and then saw baby Jesus at the temple. Also in the temple was a prophetess named Anna. She was very old and never left the temple. She didn’t have family to distract her. She’d been married, but her husband had died long before. She worshiped and prayed day and night. 
 

When Mary and Joseph brought Jesus to the temple, Anna saw them. Like Simeon, she recognized that the baby was God’s Savior to the world. Like Simeon, she gave thanks to God. But Luke says that she did one more thing. She started talking about the child. If anyone was interested in the Messiah, she told them about Jesus. She took the time to explain how this child was God’s Messiah. 
 

Remember, the shepherds had the same response! They told everyone they knew about what they had seen and heard. 
 

Do you explain your faith to others? It’s not complicated. You don’t have to have all the answers. You don’t need to be fancy about what you say. You just need to report what you saw and heard. The shepherds saw angels and a baby in a manger. Anna saw a baby in the temple. They all looked at the baby with wonder! They didn’t have to explain Him. They just needed to tell others what they had seen with their own eyes. 
 

Prayer: 

Today, Lord, help me explain how Christmas is a thing of wonder because Jesus is Your Son. I want to talk about You! 
 

This is an excerpt from The Wonder of Christmas by Shanna Noel – a devotional book now available on DaySpring.com. Learn more about this book, or shop other books & devotionals from DaySpring.

Crosswalk.com

Can Loved Ones in Heaven Look Down on You?

RJ Thesman

Crosswalk.com Contributing Writer

Can Loved Ones in Heaven Look Down on You?

The conductor raised his baton, then nodded toward the orchestra. As the melodies of Bach’s Oratorio filled the cathedral, I waited for our cue. In the soprano section, we stood in matching black concert dresses, voices raised with joy.

As we sang, I thought about my dad. How he would have enjoyed hearing such a beautiful production! One year before, he had stepped into eternity. At 85, he had lived a full life; yet I still missed him and the musical connection we shared. Then the still small voice whispered, “He’s here, up in the balcony, on the left.” I could not see him. But as tears filled my eyes and the music swelled to its crescendo, I knew Dad heard me, sitting in that empty chair, balcony left.

Can our loved ones look down on us and occasionally visit?

“I believe the answer is yes.”

“I believe the answer is yes.”

Slide 1 of 6

Not just from my experiences, but also from others who have reported similar incidents. We are told about the thin veil between heaven and earth, and scripture bears witness to the possibility of movement from one to the other.

In the Old Testament, we read the story of King Saul, who asked to speak to the prophet Samuel. Granted, Saul made the connection through the witch of Endor (1 Samuel 28), but God allowed that experience. Samuel asked, “Why have you summoned me?” He and Saul discussed the kingdom and Samuel critiqued the embattled king. Saul asked for advice and God allowed it through his deceased servant, Samuel.

We are cautioned in Deuteronomy 18:10 not to seek out sorcerers and witchcraft. But the passage in First Samuel shows it is possible for someone who has passed to revisit earth and even speak to us…

Photo Credit: ©GettyImages

The Stories

The Stories

Slide 2 of 6

Reverend Stella Ruiz, an ordained minister and bereavement coordinator for Hospice, writes, “I have listened to many family members share how they have experienced the presence of their loved one. After a loved one dies, many family members yearn for just a touch, a scent, a sign, to know their loved one is alright: the soft smell of the loved one’s perfume, physically feeling the loved one’s arms around the family member, or lights turned off without any reason. The experiences are precious and unique, but can also be painful after the special moment has ended.”

Several years ago, I met a remarkable woman in a nursing home. In her 80s, Cora loved reminiscing about her life during World War II, the Depression, and the rebuilding of the United States.

Cora shared with me that her son, Buddy, loved his dog. They often played in the backyard, cavorting around the perimeter of the yard, jumping over a tree stump, and playing peek-a-boo under the sheets drying on the clothesline.

Cora’s precious Buddy died in the flu epidemic of 1918. She grieved long and hard. Then one day she heard the dog barking. She looked in the backyard and saw something that had not happened since Buddy became ill: The dog cavorted around the perimeter of the yard, jumped over the tree stump, then played peek-a-boo under the sheets drying on the clothesline. Cora knew the dog was playing with her invisible son, and a piece of her fractured heart began to heal.

But there is an argument…

Photo Credit: ©Unsplash

The Argument

The Argument

Slide 3 of 6

A common argument asks, “Why would someone in heaven watch what is happening on earth? That would simply make them sad.”

But what if God protects the deceased from the sadness and allows only what brings them, as well as us, joy? 

We all need to be encouraged. God is faithful in providing that boost of encouragement exactly when we need it. Can’t the God who knows our hearts determine when and how to send a message of hope? Can’t he “save” our souls with a glimpse into his beautiful world and the affirmation that our loved ones are with him?

“We are surrounded by a great cloud of witnesses” (Hebrews 12:1).

The use of the word “cloud” implies a different entity – possibly above us and enveloping us. Within that cloud stands those gone before, cheering us on, praising God for our progress as we “run with endurance the race set before us.”

Since we are told guardian angels walk with us and minister to us (Hebrews 1:14), is it not possible that the spiritual realm around us might also include those who have passed? 

On the Desiring God website, John Piper addresses the topic this way:

Photo Credit: ©Unsplash

A Biblical Perspective

A Biblical Perspective

Slide 4 of 6

“God will give the saints whatever measure of knowledge they need for the greatest experience of happiness in God. If they need to know something for their fullest experience of joy in God, they will know it. He won’t withhold what is needed for their happiness in him.” –John Piper

In the New Testament, we read about the rich man and Lazarus. Luke 16:22-26 records the story of how the rich man looked up and saw the poor man, Lazarus, at peace in heaven. The rich man realized too late his mistake in not believing and not caring for the poor folks who journeyed through his life. He asked Abraham to send Lazarus as witness to his family, to warn them before it was too late. Abraham declined the request, but this passage underscores the fact that a deceased Abraham conversed across the spiritual divide.

If those who suffer in hell can look upward, is it not also possible – under God’s tutelage – for the reverse direction?

The Bible gives us another example…

Photo Credit: ©Unsplash

When God Wills It

When God Wills It

Slide 5 of 6

In Matthew 17, the Transfiguration account underscores how deceased saints may suddenly appear on earth. Jesus is joined by Moses and Elijah, who talk with the Son of God. It is a moment of instruction for Peter, James and John, as well as a reminder to us that the saints in glory – when God wills it – can travel back to earth.

This July, my best friend suffered a sudden illness and left for heaven. After the funeral, I holed up for a while, journaling through my grief and trying to find some sense in my world without Deb.

One night, I sat on my bed with my Bible open, crying out the raw emotions of grief. Then I sensed Deb behind me, her hand on my shoulder – letting me know she was okay.

I did not actually see Deb or feel her in the physical sense; yet somehow just knowing she was in the room reminded me that our friendship continued into eternity and beyond what I could physically experience. As in life, so in death, her presence was a comfort.

Final thoughts:

Photo Credit: ©Wikimedia Commons

Final Thoughts

Final Thoughts

Slide 6 of 6

We can’t know everything that happens after death –  and truthfully – we probably don’t want to know everything. Yet I believe God is so loving, he sometimes allows us to “see” or “feel” into another realm to remind us he is omnipresent and always caring.

Years ago, I read an anonymous quote that still encourages me today: “Since God is with us, and our loved ones are with Him – then they’re not very far away.”


RJ Thesman is an author and a certified writing coach. She writes from the heartland of Kansas where she lives with her adult son and an elderly cat. You can follow RJ at https://rjthesman.net/.

Adapted from the original article by RJ Thesman: Can Loved Ones in Heaven Look Down on Me?.

SEE ALSO: When a Loved One Dies
SEE ALSO: What Heaven Will Be Like – Bible Study Minute – September 5, 2017
SEE ALSO: A Prayer for When You Grieve a Loved One in Heaven – Your Daily Prayer – August 1, 2017

Photo Credit: ©Unsplash

Crosswalk.com

The Christmas Tree – Advent Devotional – December 19

THE

CHRISTMAS TREE

I KNOW WHO I AM

I am God’s child. (John 1:12)

I am Christ’s friend. (John 15:15)

I am united with the Lord. (1 Cor. 6:17)

I am bought with a price. (1 Cor. 6:19-20)

I am a saint (set apart for God). (Eph. 1:1)


I am a personal witness of Christ. (Acts 1:8)

I am the salt & light of the earth. (Matt. 5:13-14)

I am a member of the body of Christ. (1 Cor. 12:27)


I am free forever from condemnation. ( Rom. 8: 1-2)

I am a citizen of Heaven. I am significant. (Phil. 3:20)

I am free from any charge against me. (Rom. 8:31 -34)

I am a minister of reconciliation for God. (2 Cor. 5:17-21)

I have access to God through the Holy Spirit. (Eph. 2:18)


I am seated with Christ in the heavenly realms. (Eph. 2:6)


I cannot be separated from the love of God. (Rom. 8:35-39)

I am established, anointed, sealed by God. (2 Cor. 1:21– 22)

I am assured all things work together for good. (Rom. 8: 28)

I have been chosen & appointed to bear fruit. (John 15:16)

I belong to God


And that is who He says I am. How about you?

“The LORD bless you and keep you;


the LORD make His face shine upon you

and be gracious to you;

the LORD turn His face toward you


and give you peace…”

Numbers 6:24-26

MERRY CHRISTMAS FROM HOMEWORD!

For more information and resources please visit HomeWord.com.

Crosswalk.com

The 15 Best Faith-Based Movies of 2020

Michael Foust

ChristianHeadlines.com Contributor

Popcorn and Movie Clapboard

I asked a friend the other day what his favorite faith-based films were in 2020. His response – “did we have any?” – is perfectly understandable, and likely common, too. 

After all, if theaters have been closed for much of the year, and if studios are saving their best content for 2021, then what was there to watch?

But if you do a little digging, you can find quite a few movie gems that didn’t get front-page attention but still were entertaining, inspiring and worth a watch.  

In fact, we found more than a dozen. Some of these are more faith-centric than faith-based, but all of them have solid Christian elements. As always, give VidAngel or ClearPlay a try if something in a specific film troubles your senses.

Here are the 15 best faith-based movies of 2020:

Photo courtesy: ©iStock/Getty Images Plus/Roman Valiev

1. I Still Believe (PG)

A young couple faces tragedy when the wife develops an aggressive form of cancer shortly after their wedding. The film was based on the real-life romance between Christian singer Jeremy Camp and his first wife, Melissa. It was directed by the Erwin Brothers and is every bit as good as their hit I Can Only Imagine. K.J. Apa and Britt Robertson star in the lead roles. It was nominated for two People’s Choice Awards. Read our review.

Photo courtesy: ©Lionsgate

Selfie Dad still

2. Selfie Dad (PG)

A young father, Ben, deals with a midlife crisis by recording comedic self-help videos. He obtains instant fame when they go viral, yet he’s left wondering: Why am I still not happy? It’s the rare faith-based film that’s not only entertaining but also hilarious. Selfie Dad stars comedian Michael Jr. as Ben and comedian Chondra Pierce as his boss. Read our review.

Photo courtesy: ©Kappa Studios

3. Free Burma Rangers (unrated)

It’s a documentary about real-life missionaries David and Karen Eubank, who junked the comforts of the western world to form a humanitarian organization that assists innocent victims in war-torn countries. It’s perhaps the most intense faith-based documentary ever made, with heart-pounding footage from the jungles of Burma and the streets of Mosul, Iraq. Read our review.

Photo courtesy: ©Fathom

The Wise Men movie, 'The Grinch' director makes a movie about the three wise men

4. The Three Wise Men (unrated)

It’s a broadcast-worthy animated film about the three wise men and their journey to see the Christ child. It was made by a Christian couple with major Hollywood experience: Carrie Cheney (The Powerpuff Girls Movie) and Yarrow Cheney, the director of The Grinch and The Secret Life of Pets. Andy Griffith provides the narration. Although originally released on DVD in 2006, it was released for the first time on digital video this year, with new music. Read our story.

Photo courtesy: ©Aspiration Entertainment

A still from Disneys Cloud, 4 things to know about Disneys Cloud

5. Clouds (PG-13)

A teenage boy with terminal cancer spends the final months of his life writing inspirational songs about life. One of them – Clouds – becomes a worldwide hit. This Disney film is based on the real-life story of Zach Sobiech, a Minnesota boy whose Catholic mother prayed that God would use his witness for good: “I want someone’s life to be changed forever,” she asked God. That’s exactly what happened. Read our review.

Photo courtesy: ©Disney

The Last Champion still

6. The Last Champion (PG-13)

An ex-Olympic wrestler who was stripped of his gold medal during a drug scandal must face his past when his mother dies, forcing him to return to the hometown that never forgave him. Cole Hauser(Yellowstone) stars in the lead role. It’s an uplifting movie about tragedy, second chances and learning to live in the present and the future – not the past. Read our review.

Photo courtesy: ©House Media

Still from The Farmer and the Belle

7. Farmer and the Belle (PG)

An aging fashion model discovers the true, biblical meaning of beauty when she travels back to her hometown and encounters old friends, including the man who once was her best friend. It’s an inspiring faith-based romantic comedy that every Christian girl should watch. It’s based on a true story and stars Jenn Gotzon (Frost/Nixon, My Daddy’s in Heaven) and Jim E. Chandler (Lodge 49, Inheritance) in the lead roles. Read our review.

Photo courtesy: ©Mill Creek

still from Against the Tide

8. Against the Tide (unrated)

Oxford mathematician and defender-of-the-faith John Lennox offers his best arguments for the existence of God and the historicity of Christianity in plain language anyone can understand. It is hosted by actor and director Kevin Sorbo. The two men travel through the streets of London and the countryside of Israel as they examine the truth. It’s one of the best apologetic documentaries ever made. Read our review.

Photo courtesy: ©Pensmore Films

Small Group the Movie still

9. Small Group the Movie (PG-13)

A director moves his family to the South in order to make a documentary about evangelicals with the assumption he’ll uncover hypocrisy and hatred. (“Evangelicals are on the ropes,” his boss tells him.) Instead, the director discovers a compassionate group of people who are doing their best to live out Jesus’ commands. It’s a hilarious movie with plenty of life lessons for today’s church. Read our review.

Photo courtesy: ©Limesoda films

Switched movie poster

10. Switched (unrated)

Cassandra, an insecure and often-bullied high school student, prays that God will show her nemesis – the ever-popular and mega-bully Katie Sharp – what it’s like to live a day in her shoes. The next morning, the two girls wake up having switched bodies. It’s a hysterical movie with powerful messages for tweens and teens about bullying, beauty and compassion. Read our review.

Photo courtesy: ©Vertical Entertainment

Red Sea Miracle II

11. Red Sea Miracle I and II (unrated)

Filmmaker and historian Tim‌ ‌Mahoney examines the archaeological evidence for two major biblical events: the Israelites’ crossing of the desert and the Red Sea. Mahoney travels to the biblical sites and interviews scholars from various camps, yet he regularly circles back to the biblical text. It’s a two-part must-watch for Christians who want to strengthen their faith. Read our reviews here and here.

Photo courtesy: ©Thinking Man Films

Dude Perfect guys

12. Dude Perfect: Backstage Pass (unrated)

Billy Graham may be the most influential Christian in the history of the U.S., but among today’s YouTube-crazed children, the Dude Perfect quintet seems to be filling that role. (They have 54 million YouTube subscribers.) The film follows the trick shot group on their 2019 “Pound It Noggin” tour but also details their history and how they got started. In the final moments, they discuss their Christian faith. Read our review.

Photo courtesy: ©Dude Perfect

13. Jump Shot (unrated)

It’s an gripping sports documentary about an unsung, overlooked name in basketball history: Kenny Sailors, the creator of the jump shot. In the 1940s, Sailors led upstart Wyoming to a national title and then became one of the NBA’s top scoring guards before becoming an integral promoter of high school girls’ basketball in Alaska. He also was a Christian. (“As I’ve gotten older, the Lord has shown me that there are … things more important than just sports or basketball,” he says.) Steph Curry was an executive producer. Read our review.

14. I Am Patrick (unrated)

The namesake for St. Patrick’s Day didn’t rid Ireland of snakes and he wasn’t even – can you believe it? – Irish. But as this documentary makes clear, Patrick was a Christian man whose mission work should be a symbol of inspiration to today’s Christians. He escaped slavery in Ireland but then felt called to go back to spread the gospel among a pagan people. The film is part-docudrama and stars John Rhys-Davies (Lord of the Rings series) as Patrick. Read our review.

Photo courtesy: ©Fathom

Divided Hear still

15. Divided Hearts of America (unrated)

Former NFL star Benjamin Watson interviews more than 30 experts and politicians on both sides of the abortion divide to uncover the facts about America’s most-debated issue. The documentary raises tough questions for pro-choicers and pro-lifers alike. Watson, who is pro-life, demonstrates how to discuss the issue. He never shouts. He never gets angry. But he always speaks the truth with love. Read our review.

Related:

12 Best Christian Movies of 2019

Photo courtesy: ©Salem Now

Michael Foust has covered the intersection of faith and news for 20 years. His stories have appeared in Baptist Press, Christianity Today, The Christian PosttheLeaf-Chronicle, the Toronto Star andthe Knoxville News-Sentinel.

iBelieve.com

5 Indicators of an Evil and Wicked Heart

by Leslie Vernick

As Christian counselors, pastors and people helpers we often have a hard time discerning between an evil heart and an ordinary sinner who messes up, who isn’t perfect, and full of weakness and sin.

I think one of the reasons we don’t “see” evil is because we find it so difficult to believe that evil individuals actually exist. We can’t imagine someone deceiving us with no conscience, hurting others with no remorse, spinning outrageous fabrications to ruin someone’s reputation, or pretending he or she is spiritually committed yet has no fear of God before his or her eyes.

The Bible clearly tells us that among God’s people there are wolves that wear sheep’s clothing (Jeremiah 23:14Titus 1:10Revelations 2:2). It’s true that every human heart is inclined toward sin (Romans 3:23), and that includes evil (Genesis 8:21James 1:4). We all miss God’ mark of moral perfection. However, most ordinary sinners do not happily indulge evil urges, nor do we feel good about having them. We feel ashamed and guilty, rightly so (Romans 7:19–21). These things are not true of the evil heart.

Below are five indicators that you may be dealing with an evil heart rather than an ordinary sinful heart.  If so, it requires a radically different treatment approach.

1. Evil hearts are experts at creating confusion and contention.

They twist the facts, mislead, lie, avoid taking responsibility, deny reality, make up stories, and withhold information. (Psalms 5:8; 10:7; 58:3; 109:2–5; 140:2; Proverbs 6:13,14; 6:18,19; 12:13; 16:20; 16:27, 28; 30:14; Job 15:35Jeremiah 18:18Nehemiah 6:8Micah 2:1Matthew 12:34,35; Acts 6:11–13; 2 Peter 3:16)

2. Evil hearts are experts at fooling others with their smooth speech and flattering words.

But if you look at the fruit of their lives or the follow through of their words, you will find no real evidence of godly growth or change. It’s all smoke and mirrors. (Psalms 50:19; 52:2,3; 57:4; 59:7; 101:7; Proverbs 12:5; 26:23–26; 26:28; Job 20:12Jeremiah 12:6Matthew 26:59Acts 6:11–13; Romans 16:17,18; 2 Corinthians 11:13,14; 2 Timothy 3:2–5; 3:13; Titus 1:10,16).

3. Evil hearts crave and demand control, and their highest authority is their own self-reference.

They reject feedback, real accountability, and make up their own rules to live by. They use Scripture to their own advantage but ignore and reject passages that might require self-correction and repentance. (Romans 2:8Psalms 10; 36:1–4; 50:16–22; 54:5,6; 73:6–9; Proverbs 21:24Jude 1:8–16).

4. Evil hearts play on the sympathies of good-willed people, often trumping the grace card.

They demand mercy but give none themselves. They demand warmth, forgiveness, and intimacy from those they have harmed with no empathy for the pain they have caused and no real intention of making amends or working hard to rebuild broken trust. (Proverbs 21:101 Peter 2:16Jude 1:4).

5. Evil hearts have no conscience, no remorse.

They do not struggle against sin or evil—they delight in it—all the while masquerading as someone of noble character. (Proverbs 2:14–15; 10:23; 12:10; 21:27,29; Isaiah 32:6Romans 1:302 Corinthians 11:13–15)

If you are working with someone who exhibits these characteristics, it’s important that you confront them head on. You must name evil for what it is. The longer you try to reason with them or show mercy towards them, the more you, as the Christian counselor, will become a pawn in his or her game.

They want you to believe that:

1. Their horrible actions should have no serious or painful consequences.

When they say “I’m sorry,” they look to you as the pastor or Christian counselor to be their advocate for amnesty with the person he or she has harmed. They believe grace means they are immediately granted immunity from the relational fallout of their serious sin. They believe forgiveness entitles them to full reconciliation and will pressure you and their victim to comply.

The Bible warns us saying, “But when grace is shown to the wicked, they do not learn righteousness; even in a land of uprightness they go on doing evil and do not regard the majesty of the Lord (Isaiah 26:10). 

The Bible tells us that talking doesn’t wake up evil people, but painful consequences might. Jesus didn’t wake up the Pharisee’s with his talk nor did God’s counsel impact Cain (Genesis 4). In addition, the Bible shows us that when someone is truly sorry for the pain they have caused, he or she is eager to make amends to those they have harmed by their sin (see Zacchaeus’ response when he repented of his greed in Luke 19). 

Tim Keller writes, “If you have been the victim of a heinous crime. If you have suffered violence, and the perpetrator (or even the judge) says, ‘Sorry, can’t we just let it go?’ You would say, ‘No, that would be an injustice.’ Your refusal would rightly have nothing to do with bitterness or vengeance. If you have been badly wronged, you know that saying sorry is never enough. Something else is required—some kind of costly payment must be made to put things right.”1

As Biblical counselors let’s not collude with the evil one by turning our attention to the victim, requiring her to forgive, to forget, to trust again when there has been no evidence of inner change. Proverbs says, “Trusting in a treacherous man in time of trouble is like a bad tooth or a foot that slips” (Proverbs. 25:19). It’s foolishness.

The evil person will also try to get you to believe

2. That if I talk like a gospel-believing Christian I am one, even if my actions don’t line up with my talk.

Remember, Satan masquerades as an angel of light (2 Corinthians 11:13–15). He knows more true doctrine than you or I will ever know, but his heart is wicked. Why? Because although he knows the truth, he does not believe it or live it.

The Bible has some strong words for those whose actions do not match their talk (1 John 3:17,18; Jeremiah 7:8,10; James 1:22, 26). John the Baptist said it best when he admonished the religious leaders, “Prove by the way you live that you have repented of your sins and turned to God” (Luke 3:8).

If week after week you hear the talk but there is no change in the walk, you have every reason to question someone’s relationship with God.

Part of our maturity as spiritual leaders is that we have been trained to discern between good and evil. Why is that so important? It’s important because evil usually pretends to be good, and without discernment we can be easily fooled (Hebrews 5:14).

When you confront evil, chances are good that the evil heart will stop counseling with you because the darkness hates the light (John 3:20) and the foolish and evil heart reject correction (Proverbs 9:7,8). But that outcome is far better than allowing the evil heart to believe you are on his or her side, or that “he’s not that bad” or “that he’s really sorry” or “that he’s changing” when, in fact, he is not.

Daniel says, “[T]he wicked will continue to be wicked” (Daniel 12:10), which begs the question, do you think an evil person can really change?

[1] Tim Keller, Jesus the King, page 172

what is your Christmas story?

God enters the world through folks like you and comes on days like today. — Max Lucado, God Is With You Every Day

DevosDaily

Your Christmas Story

by Max Lucado, from God Is With You Every Day

Meet Max

God enters the world through folks like you and comes on days like today.

Now in the sixth month the angel Gabriel was sent by God to a city of Galilee named Nazareth, to a virgin betrothed to a man whose name was Joseph, of the house of David. The virgin’s name was Mary. — Luke 1:26-27

What if Joseph and Mary had shown up in furs with a chauffeur, bling-blinged and high-muckety-mucked? And what if God had decked out Bethlehem like Hollywood on Oscar night: red carpet, flashing lights, with angels interviewing the royal couple? “Mary, Mary, you look simply divine.”

Had Jesus come with such whoop-de-do, we would have read the story and thought, My, look how Jesus entered their world.

But since He didn’t, we can read the story and dream. My, might Jesus be born in my world? My everyday world?

Isn’t that what you indwell? Not a holiday world. Or a red-letter-day world. No, you live an everyday life. You have bills to pay, beds to make, and grass to cut. Your face won’t grace any magazine covers, and you aren’t expecting a call from the White House.

Congratulations. You qualify for a modern-day Christmas story. God enters the world through folks like you and comes on days like today.

So be alert… today just might be your Christmas story.

~ God’s Story, Your Story

Excerpted with permission from God Is With You Every Day by Max Lucado, copyright Max Lucado.

. . . .

Your Turn

Isn’t it comforting that Jesus came in such lowly and humble manner? He came for you in your regular life, your “normal” family, and He’s relatable in His humanity. Jesus wasn’t overly handsome, or rich, or famous (for most of His life). He was average because He came for the average. He came for you. Come share your thoughts with us on our blog. We would love to hear from you!

Daily Devotion

God’s Work

“Being confident of this, that he who began a good work in you will carry it on to completion until the day of Christ Jesus.” – Philippians 1:6

Dear Lord, You are always working behind the scenes. You are faithful and will accomplish Your purposes in my life so that others will come to know You also. Amen

Leave a comment