Dose of Devotion

 motivational quote: Live so that when your children think of fairness and integrity, they think of you.</p><p>H. Jackson Brown, Jr. - Author

“Today I will commit to being an encourager, comforter and exhorter. Thank You Lord for Christian fathers who have modelled Your heart with their children.”

Promise #168

Picture

Promise #168:
When you walk through the fires of adversity, you will not be burned.

Isaiah 43:2 (WEB)
When you pass through the waters, I will be with you;
and through the rivers, they will not overflow you.
When you walk through the fire, you will not be burned,
and flame will not scorch you.

I took this photo when my wife and I were in New Zealand a few years back. These volcanic geysers continually release boiling hot water onto the earth’s surface and it is a truly amazing sight to see. In the natural, no one could walk through these gushing waters without getting burned.

Yet in this Bible verse, God says that even if we walk through fire, we will not be burned. When I think of this promise, I do not think of passing through literal waters or fires, but the raging waters and fires of adversity that we all face in life.

The NLT Bible calls it ‘the fire of oppression’ that we sometimes experience. I find great comfort in knowing that God promises that He will be with us as we go through our trials and that ultimately these trials will not overcome us.

One day when Jesus comes back or we go home to be with Him, we will be in a place where there is no more pain or suffering. But in this life, we will continue to experience hardships simply because we live in a fallen world. The next time you go through a difficult experience, remember God’s promise to be with you in the midst of the trial.

My prayer is that the flames of adversity will not consume you as you pass through them. May you be kept safe in the secret place of the Most High (Psalm 91) no matter what life throws at you!

TRUSTING GOD DAY BY DAY

“Let Me See Self-Control!”

 
“And all your [spiritual] children shall be disciples [taught by the Lord and obedient to His will], and great shall be the peace and undisturbed composure of your children.” — Isaiah 54:13
 
Our emotions tend to ebb and flow like ocean waves.  It would be so nice if they would just ask permission to come or go, but they don’t.  They just do their own thing, and without any warning.
 
A rebellious child does a lot of things without a parent’s permission, and just wishing that the child wouldn’t do that won’t change a thing.   The parent must discipline the child to bring about the change.  The same principle holds true with emotions. They are often like rebellious children, and the longer they are allowed to do as they please, the more difficult it will be to control them.
 
My daughter, Sandy, and her husband, Steve, have twin girls.  Steve and Sandy have studied parenting techniques, and one thing they work with their children on a lot is self control. It’s interesting to watch how it works for them.  One or both of the girls may be behaving quite emotionally.  They might be angry or acting selfish, and one of the parents will say, “Girls, let’s get some self-control.  Come on, let me see self-control”.  That’s the girls’ signal to fold their hands in their laps and sit quietly until they calm down and can behave correctly. It works beautifully!  It will be easier for the twins to manage their emotions as adults because they are learning to do so early in life.
 
I spent the first eighteen years of my life in a house where emotions were volatile, and it seemed normal to me to let them rule.  I learned that if you didn’t get what you wanted, you yelled, argued, and stayed angry until you got your way.  I learned how to manipulate people by making them feel guilty.  I learned starting at an early age to be emotional, and it took lots of years to unlearn what I had learned.  I encourage you to control yourself and teach your children at an early age how to do the same thing.  If it is too late for that, then begin where you are now, because it is never too late to do the right thing.
 
Trust In Him — On a scale of 1 to 10, how often do you demonstrate self control?  It takes practice and encouragement from God’s Word to live this way, but you can trust that God, as your loving Father, will help you get there.
Presented By Bible Gateway
Carrie Lloyd For Our Own Sake, We Tell the Truth
CARRIE LLOYD

Lee en español

“God is Spirit, and those who worship Him must worship in spirit and truth.” John 4:24 (NKJV)

I must be honest; it’s taken me some time to embrace truth.

The truth of others toward me, the truth of myself when I would prefer to believe my own pretense. It’s safer there. At times, truth has felt so aggressive. Ungentle. Blunt and harsh in its reality. Truth didn’t feel Christian; it felt unkind.

Being British didn’t help — for my culture preferred to sweep truth under the Persian rug and fill the awkward silence with a cup of Earl Grey.

How often I wanted to “Proverbs 4:23” my heart, guarding it, sprinting away as if the truth wanted to hunt or hurt me. I created a façade that said my day was fine, that I wasn’t in pain, that I wasn’t scared — whatever I needed to say to belong to society, to God even, I said it.

I used chameleon methods that were lying to myself, leaving unresolved solutions to my unsatisfactory life.

Within the storms many of us have recently faced, I know I am not alone. All that is coming to the surface in this silence, or the chaos, feels antagonistic: the dreams yet to be fulfilled, the relationship that isn’t as paradisiacal as it might appear. Before quarantine, distractions could divert our eyes from truth. But how helpful were our normal aversions? In every moment we hid, we missed an opportunity to learn the beauty of God.

John 4 reminds me of the finest truth-teller that ever lived. Our Lord never avoided honest conversations. He reveled in them. Why else would He make space and wait upon the hottest hour of the day for a woman who was already outcast by society? He seeks the honest ones.

Within this dialogue, I discovered a golden nugget that would help me embrace the power of truth forever.

Even if it stung.

I always wondered why, when it came to the Samaritan woman, did Jesus ask her to fetch her husband? Especially when He already knew she’d had five husbands, and the one she lived with was not her husband?

Jesus wasn’t trying to shame her, nor put her in her place. He’s not a rebel of his own teachings; He’s a master of them.

Instead, He wanted to see if she was owning her own truth, her own choices. He wanted to see if she was the kind of soil He could sow into. Hungry enough for wisdom, versus protecting her own ego. She didn’t tell Him what she thought He’d want to hear. She didn’t defend. She simply replied, “I have no husband” (John 4:17b, NKJV).

In that you spoke truly,” He replied (John 4:18, NKJV). For true worship, according to our Lord, was coming: “God is Spirit, and those who worship Him must worship in spirit and truth” (John 4:24).

Can we ever worship Him if we’re not walking in truth? We’re missing an opportunity to discover the wonder of His freedom and missing out on life itself.

In the great strength of His undying, never-going-to-leave-you love, we have no excuse to run, but every reason to hold onto His hope for us.

For it was there I truly began to grow, where the Persian rug was picked up and shaken outside. I found true stillness in the freedom of His truth. I got honest about my fears of abandonment. Honest about my legalism. I stopped numbing myself to conviction and celebrated the fact that He could trust me with His truth. I finally built trust with myself and my friends. The cost of denial outweighed the power of His voice living authentically through me.

Today, I’d rather face the sting of my truth than the dull ache of denial, for the distance between God and me was too brutal to bear.

It was in this divine appointment between the Samaritan Woman that I learned truth isn’t repulsive; it’s revelatory.

The most freeing worship we could ever know.

Dear Jesus, remind me of the beauty of truth, a worship that sings lullabies in Your ears. That in my own shortcomings You strengthen me. Help me be compassionate to those who hand me truth, and help me speak truth through grace. Help me reject shame so I can hear clearly Your wisdom in every daily struggle. You are the great comforter who believes in me more than I do. Thank You for always leading me toward the light, even when I want to hide in the dark. In Jesus’ Name, Amen.

TRUTH FOR TODAY: John 8:32, “And you shall know the truth, and the truth shall make you free.” (NKJV)

Psalm 26:3, “For Your loving kindness is before my eyes, And I have walked in Your truth.” (NKJV)

RELATED RESOURCES: Do you ever wonder who you are, why you are here, and what really makes life worth living? If you’re ready to be done pretending or want to find out more about leading a life of integrity, grab a copy of The Noble Renaissance: Reclaiming the Lost Virtue of Nobility by Carrie Lloyd.

CONNECT: Catch more of the truth on Episode 29: The Truth Tellers from The Carrie On Podcast with Carrie Lloyd.

Enter to WIN your very own copy of The Noble Renaissance by Carrie Lloyd. To celebrate this book, Carrie’s publisher will give away 5 copies! Enter to win by leaving a comment here. {We’ll randomly select 5 winners and then notify each one in the comments section by Monday, June 22, 2020.}

REFLECT AND RESPOND: What are some truths in your own life you’ve been avoiding, about yourself or someone else?

Are there any areas in your life you’re numbing? With gentleness, identify what those things are, and ask the Lord what to do with those truths.


Carrie Lloyd is an author, podcaster and leader at Bethel Church, and lives in Hollywood, California. Follow @carriegracey on Twitter and Instagram.

© 2020 by Carrie Lloyd. All rights reserved.

Proverbs 31 Ministries thanks Emanate Books, an imprint of Thomas Nelson and division of HarperCollins Christian Publishing, for their sponsorship of today’s devotion.

Click here to view our policy on 3rd party links.

Proverbs 31 Ministries
630 Team Rd., Suite 100
Matthews, NC 28105
www.Proverbs31.org

DaySpring Cards

Wait On His Timing

by: Shanna Noel

Is there something you are waiting on God for today? Maybe a decision you need help with, or whether or not you got the new job, or for His mighty intervention in a loved one’s life. It takes a lot of strength and courage of heart not to take matters into your own hands, doesn’t it? Yet that is exactly what He wants you to do – wait on His perfect timing for the unfolding of His perfect plan. He is with you and in absolute control, so trust in Him as you wait.

I wait for Yahweh; I wait and put my hope in His word. (Psalm 130:5 HCSB)

Therefore the LORD is waiting to show you mercy, and is rising up to show you compassion, for the LORD is a just God. All who wait patiently for Him are happy. (Isaiah 30:18 HCSB)

Let your hope make you glad. Be patient in time of trouble and never stop praying. (Romans 12:12 CEV)

Wait for the LORD; be strong, and let your heart take courage; wait for the LORD! (Psalm 27:14 ESV)

O Lord, waiting with patence is hard. But I trust in You and know that Your timing is absolutely perfect in all things. So I will wait.

This is an excerpt from 100 Days of Bible Promises by Shanna Noel and – a devotional book released by DaySpring publishing.  Learn more about this book, or shop other books & devotionals from DaySpring.

DaySpring Cards

10 Prayers to Pray Over Your Husband

Do you spend time each day praying for your husband? Determining what prayers to pray over your husband can be an eye-opening experience. Years ago, I decided to consistently pray for my husband. While that sounds really mature and wonderful, the choice was a selfish endeavor, though I thought I was being helpful. In my immaturity, I wanted a few things to change in my marriage and so I called on the Lord to change them. Funny how I discovered the one who needed to change was ME! Ever been there?

Through God’s work in my heart, I discovered the importance of praying for my husband and the power of praying for him. Over the years, God has shown me his work in my marriage through prayer time and time again. Prayer is a life-changing, uninterrupted connection to our heavenly Father and oh how he loves to hear his children pray! Check out these 10 prayers to pray over your husband using God’s Word.

  1. Pray for his work.

“Lord, I pray that You would bless my husband’s work. That he would be diligent and prosperous. That You would give him wisdom and discernment. God, I pray You would give him strength to walk the opportunities you provide. Thank you, Lord.”

Do you see a person skilled in his work? He will stand in the presence of kings. He will not stand in the presence of the unknown. Proverbs 22:29 CSB

  1. Pray for his heart, soul, and mind.

“Father, I praise You for my husband, Your unique creation. Please guard his heart and mind, Jesus. Protect him from temptation and fill him up with the good things he needs. You’ve promised to fill his soul with what he needs and I ask You to do just that.”

For he has satisfied the thirsty and filled the hungry with good things. Psalm 107:9 CSB

  1. Pray for healing from the past.

“God, would You heal the wounds of my husband’s heart? You’ve promised healing to those who submit to You. Lord, please smooth the scars of past hurts and brokenness. May Your healing permeate his being, inside and out.”

Heal me, Lord, and I will be healed; save me, and I will be saved, for you are my praise. Jeremiah 17:14 CSB

  1. Pray for courage.

“Lord, You are gracious and merciful, yet You are all-powerful and understanding. This world can be a fearful place and I pray that You would give my husband courage. Lord, infuse his character with courage for daily decisions and the difficult ones as well.”

The fear of the Lord leads to life; one will sleep at night without danger. Proverbs 19:23 CSB

  1. Pray for his leadership.

“God, You have provided Your Word and I am so grateful. May Your Word guide my husband as the leader of our home. May his leadership skills be empowered by your wisdom. I trust that You will lead in his hand and heart in our relationship, his work, our home, community and church.”

Now if any of you lacks wisdom, he should ask God—who gives to all generously and ungrudgingly—and it will be given to him. James 1:5 CSB

  1. Pray for wisdom in finances.

“Lord, money yields the greatest potential to cause problems in a home. Please give my husband wisdom as he seeks to honor You with finances. I praise You for the blessings You’ve provided and I pray that You would help him, help us, to always honor You first.”

Keep your life free from the love of money. Be satisfied with what you have, for he himself has said, I will never leave you or abandon you. Hebrews 13:5 CSB

  1. Pray for a heart for the Lord.

“Father, please give my husband a pure heart for You. May he seek to love You and trust You with everything he has and is. Protect him from opinions intended to sway him from Your Word.”

Don’t work only while being watched, as people-pleasers, but as slaves of Christ, do God’s will from your heart. Ephesians 6:6 CSB

  1. Pray for his speech.

“Father, in a day when the world speaks with complete corruption, keep my husband’s words pure before You. I pray that he would use his words just as You would have him to. I praise You for his personality and pray for purposeful conversations in our marriage.”

No foul language should come from your mouth, but only what is good for building up someone in need, so that it gives grace to those who hear. Ephesians 4:29 CSB

  1. Pray for his friendships.

“Lord, I pray that You would provide encouraging friendships for my husband. That he would know he is never alone because You are with him, but I ask for others to speak into his life and sharpen him as he sharpens them.”

Iron sharpens iron, and one person sharpens another. Proverbs 27:17 CSB

  1. Pray for your husband to be a good father.

“God, I thank You that You are the good, good Father. Would you help my husband’s parenting to reflect You? May his children know Your heavenly love personally and experience it through their earthly father.”

Fathers, don’t stir up anger in your children, but bring them up in the training and instruction of the Lord. Ephesians 6:4 CSB

This list of 10 Scripture-based prayers is a perfect place to start exploring how to pray for your husband. If you know someone struggling or feeling disconnected in their marriage, share these powerful prayers with them and use this article to encourage their hearts. If you know someone who longs to strengthen her marriage and build up her husband,these prayers would be the perfect tool to do so!

Visual reminders of my praying intentions are always a bonus and if that’s you too, check out the You + Me gift collection for beautiful inspiration to pray for your husband. This collection, inspired by The 5 Love Languages, comes with sticky prayerscouples’ coupon bookcorrespondent cards, and love notes. You could also take your prayer encouragement another step by giving your husband one of these beautiful “You’ve been prayed for…” cards.

Looking for more inspiration? Check out our entire devotional library. Also, sign up for our e-newsletter to receive more devotionals, neat ideas, Ecard Studio updates and exclusive deals.

Father, please give my husband a pure heart for You.

Crosswalk.com

Jesus Is Praying for You (Romans 8:34)

Jesus Is Praying for You
by Lynette Kittle

Who then is the one who condemns? No one. Christ Jesus who died – more than that, who was raised to life – is at the right hand of God and is also interceding for us.” — Romans 8:34

Growing up it was comforting to know my grandparents and parents were praying for me. Many times their prayers were taken for granted but as they have passed away, I’ve become more aware of just how much their prayers meant to me.

Knowing they were daily interceding for me provided me with a strength, security, confidence, and support that God was leading in my life.

Just like their prayers encouraged me through life, I’ve realized there is another who is always praying for me, a risen Savior who is daily interceding on my behalf.

Hebrews 7:23-25 states, “Now there have been many of those priests, since death prevented them from continuing in office; but because Jesus lives forever, He has a permanent priesthood. Therefore He is able to save completely those who come to God through Him, because he always lives to intercede for them.”

If like me, you’ve experienced the loss of loved ones who you knew were interceding for you on a daily basis, or if you’ve felt alone at times thinking no one cares or is praying for you, realize that Jesus is at the right hand of God praying for you.

As 1Timothy 2:5 explains, “For there is one God and one mediator between God and mankind, the man Christ Jesus.”

His ascension to Heaven did not stop His ministry to you. Along with paying the price for your sin, He is alive and serving as your advocate before the Father.

And why might you need an advocate? Because as 1 Peter 5:8 describes, you have an adversary, the devil, who is seeking to devour you.

Still you can rest knowing Jesus is pleading your case before the Father. 1 John 2:1 states, “My dear children, I write this to you so that you will not sin. But if anybody does sin, we have an advocate with the Father—Jesus Christ, the Righteous One.”

Furthermore, Hebrews 9:24 describes how, “Christ did not enter a sanctuary made with human hands that was only a copy of the true one; He entered Heaven itself, now to appear for us in God’s presence.”

Jesus has not taken His priestly duties lightly, but rather has carried His love, concern, and ministry to you to the very throne room of God.


Lynette Kittle is married with four daughters. She enjoys writing about faith, marriage, parenting, relationships, and life. Her writing has been published by Focus on the Family, Decision, Today’s Christian Woman, iBelieve.com, kirkcameron.com, Ungrind.org, and more. She has an M.A. in Communication from Regent University and serves as an associate producer for Soul Check TV.

Want to go beyond a minute in the Word today? Continue over to BibleStudyTools.com!

 

Crosswalk.com

10 Things You Should Never Say to Your Wife

  • Brittany Rust
  • brittanyrust.com

10 Things You Should Never Say to Your Wife

Marriage can be a beautiful thing and certainly something to be enjoyed. If you find a godly spouse, indeed, you find a good thing. But no relationship is perfect and sometimes your spouse will say something that gets on your nerves; we’ve all been there if married very long at all!

This one’s for the husbands; a list of things better left unsaid to your wife. It’s not all inclusive and this isn’t to point you out; us wives have some things better left unsaid as well. But in case you’re wondering, here are 10 comments that might bother your wife.

Image courtesy: ©Thinkstock/SIphotography

1. “You should have asked for help.”

1. “You should have asked for help.”

A woman wants a husband who will care for her and watch over her. She wants a protector and to feel taken care of. Because of this, it’s nice when our husband notices we might need help with something and jumps in for the support. Sometimes a wife might need help reaching for that bowl above the refrigerator or picking up the cheerios on the floor. This is a great opportunity to jump in and serve your wife.

If you don’t jump in and maybe your wife seems frustrated or mentions she would have like helped, refrain from commenting she should have asked for it. A comment like that will leave her feeling alone and uncared for. I promise you, it’s the little things that go a long way!

Image courtesy: Pexels.com

2. “We just don’t agree so let’s not talk about it.”

2. “We just don’t agree so let’s not talk about it.”

Sometimes the logic is, if I know we won’t agree on the topic or see eye to eye, let’s not talk about it. But not talking about it doesn’t make the difference go away. If anything, it creates a gap that will only grow with time.

I’ve watched this happen when it comes to politics, family, and even the Bible. Don’t be afraid to talk to your wife regarding a sensitive issue just because you don’t think you’ll agree. Take the opportunity to really listen to each other and grow closer through the differences.

Image courtesy: ©Thinkstock/LittleBee80

3. “Why are you doing it that way?”

3. “Why are you doing it that way?”

When we’re working on something we care about or pour a lot of time into, we look to our husband for encouragement and validation.

What you don’t want to do is start critiquing how your wife is going about her project. Avoid making statements that call into question her ability; this will significantly discourage her. It’s ok to compliment and then ask, “have you ever thought of trying this?” This approach encourages her and leads to bettering each other, rather than critiquing.

Image courtesy: ©Thinkstock/AndreyPopov

4. “Looks the same to me.”

4. “Looks the same to me.”

Your wife gets a new haircut, works out to lose a few pounds, or tries out a new makeup look. She wants to know you notice and might ask “how do I look” or “can you tell I made a change?” If so, never say anything close to “you look the same to me.”

Your wife wants you to notice her, in both the small and significant ways. Make a comment about how you like the new look or appreciate the hard work she’s put into the new effort.

Image courtesy: ©Thinkstock/grinvalds

5. “What did you do all day?”

5. “What did you do all day?”

This is a big no, no! Some women stay home to take care of the kiddos while the husband goes to work, or perhaps works from home. I beg you to please never come home and ask your wife what she’s been doing all day. Maybe the house isn’t perfect or dinner is a bit late, but I promise you that any woman staying home to care for the family, whether that be with kids or a stay-at-home job, is not bored or sitting around the house all day.

Image courtesy: ©Thinkstock/liza5450

6. “What did you say?”

6. “What did you say?”

If your wife is sharing something with you, please don’t tune her out as you look at your phone or daydream about the upcoming game (or whatever it is men daydream about!). The last thing your wife wants to hear after she has said something is, “what did you say?” This can be incredibly discouraging and deflating.

Image courtesy: ©Thinkstock/chairboy

7. “I don’t know.”

7. “I don’t know.”

Your wife is looking for her keys or asking what you’d like for dinner, just to name a few examples. She’s turning to you for some insight or help. When you say “I don’t know” and keep doing what you’re doing, you leave your wife feeling alone.

Instead, jump in and ask how you can help, offer to look with her, or make some suggestions.

Image courtesy: ©Thinkstock/Merlas

8. “I’ll do it later.”

8. “I’ll do it later.”

She asks for some help with the house, or for you to run to the grocery store. You respond with “I’ll do it later” but forget or do it a few days later. Here’s the deal: if you do say it, be the person who does it within a reasonable time that doesn’t leave your wife stressed. Only then, having a track record of getting things done, may you use this phrase. If your history is spotty, it’s time to amp up your timeliness!

Image courtesy: ©Thinkstock/KatarzynaBialasiewicz

9. “I don’t remember saying that” or “You’re remembering that wrong.”

9. “I don’t remember saying that” or “You’re remembering that wrong.”

When remembering some details, both people are going to feel confident in their memory. Be careful how you handle this conversation or it could quickly turn into a fight.

If you feel confident in your memory, try something different like “they way I remember it is…” and approach it from a neutral perspective. Saying something like “you’re remembering it wrong” can feel like an attack and put your wife on the defense.

Image courtesy: ©Thinkstock/SIphotography

10. “It’s up to you.”

10. “It’s up to you.”

You’re trying to come up with a plan or figure out where to eat and your wife asks for your opinion. You then respond, “it’s up to you.” This can be a frustrating remark to hear and make your wife feel alone or bossy.

Engage in conversation with her to find a solution that works for both of you!

Disclaimer: I gathered these in a poll conducted with godly wives. To my wonderful husband, you’ve only said one or two of these [wink, wink]!

*Content taken from the article, 10 Things Never to Say to Your Wife, written by Brittany Rust. To read the text version please click the link.

Image courtesy: ©Thinkstock/nd3000

Crosswalk.com

5 Long-Term Lessons from the Pandemic

  • Steve Hall
  • Contributing Writer

mom with small son on piggyback looking up

In the coming weeks, many of us will be in areas that begin lifting some restrictions imposed during the COVID-19 pandemic. If done carefully that is welcome news.

But as we try to begin moving forward, this is an important time to think about lessons we’ve learned during lockdown that we may want to keep.

Below are some of the blessings that this crisis has opened up that I want to continue.

1. Loving Our Neighbors Well

Having met neighbors I would not otherwise, I want to keep and develop those relationships.

For many of us stuck working at home, or caring for kids no longer in school, it’s become more common to take walks around the neighborhood. I have met several neighbors on those walks I had never met while working downtown every day (with errands, exercise, or evening commitments after). I see these as providential meetings with people that God wants me to continue befriending.

This is important not just in the short run, but because this virus may have long-term implications for our country and economy. This crisis is opening an opportunity to introduce others to eternal hope when hope placed in worldly things has been shaken.

The body of Christ is the only group on the planet that can do that. I thank God for the new opportunities he has opened for those through this crisis.

Photo Credit: ©Getty Images/evgenyatamanenko

2. Prioritizing Spiritual and Emotional Health over Social Media

I want to continue using newly available time for spiritual growth and relationships ahead of the media, social media, and entertainment.

For the past few years, I have been fortunate to have mornings available for prayer and devotions. Working at home has now opened at least an additional hour every day because I’m not commuting.

I have tried to invest this new time to deepen my relationship with Christ, pray with others over Zoom and phone, reach out regularly to those most affected by the crisis, and support ministries who support people out of work because of the pandemic. I’ve also been in more regular contact with out-of-town family. All of these are new priorities on how I use my time that I want to continue.

But to do that, I’ve also had to resist the siren call of entertainment, incessant news, and social media, limiting those to one or two hours per day if I can. For families and all of us, it’s a great opportunity to invest more time face-to-face and less time face-to-Facebook (though the latter, if used carefully, can also help us keep in touch with others).

Families that normally have children in school, with parents now working at home, have been challenged by an over-abundance of human contact. For those of us living and working alone, the social isolation has been hard (especially for extraverts like me).

But that challenge has also provided the blessing of accepting more alone time, and the challenge of using it well. This is a great opportunity for each of us to use some of this forced down-time to draw closer to Christ, and to each other even if by phone or Facetime. I want to keep that up as much as possible, even if I return to work in an office setting.

3. Having Less ‘Stuff’

Having uncluttered my closets, I want to keep them that way.

With added time to clean and purge a home, I bet many of us have been surprised to find things we bought and forgot. With those things gone and space opened, I plan to be much more careful making clothing or other purchases.

This crisis is a tremendous reminder that in eternity, all we will have is what we have given away. We need to live like that, and give like that, and not just during a crisis.

Photo Credit: ©Getty Images/Daisy

4. Giving More Sacrificially

Jesus was clear that we are simply stewards of what he entrusts to us (Matthew 25:14-29). But we have grown accustomed to seeing our possessions as ours, not his, after we give to church or charities. In truth, all our resources and our very selves belong to him and should be offered back to him. (Deuteronomy 10:141 Corinthians 10:26Romans 12:1).

Sacrificial giving is not commanded in Scripture, but it is always commended. Jesus praised a poor widow who gave only a small amount, but it was “all she had to live on.” (Luke 21:1-4). The Macedonian churches gave generously out of great poverty (8:7-15).

Voluntary and joyful giving of that kind is encouraged (2 Corinthians 9:6-7) and now is needed more than ever. That goes for local needs and those overseas, where countries already poor are now hit with the virus.

This crisis provides another potential blessing to give sacrificially. That is a blessing we can share with others with or without a crisis to prompt us.

5. Remaining Thankful in All Circumstances, including These

One of the more important habits I’ve cultivated during this crisis is to give thanks regularly for the many blessings I do have, even when I often lack company and conveniences that I had before. “Give thanks in all circumstances, for this is the will of God in Christ Jesus for you.” (1 Thessalonians 5:18). Paul wrote this to Christians who were facing persecution, something he faced time and time again in his ministry. What better time than now to put this verse to practice on a daily basis.

I hope these ideas have been constructive. Every challenge God allows into our lives provides an opportunity for us to serve and grow. May he help us seize those opportunities now and in the days ahead.

Photo Credit: ©GettyImages/jacoblund


headshot of author Steve HallSteve Hall is an attorney who works in Richmond, Virginia. He is a graduate of Gordon-Conwell Theological Seminary and the University of Virginia School of Law. He also leads a nonprofit ministry, Joseph’s Way (www.josephsway.org), that since 2012 has been helping families and churches prepare for emergencies, financial crises, and legal challenges to the Christian faith, in ways that equip them to serve others during a crisis.

Crosswalk.com

3 Poignant Lessons My Son Taught Me During Quarantine

  • Jaime Jo Wright
  • Crosswalk.com Contributing Writer

Leave a comment